We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go upstairs to The Hearth . . .” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of One Twenty Six

One Twenty Six
Reserve with OpenTable
One Twenty Six is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #152 of 246 Restaurants in Iowa City
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Go upstairs to The Hearth . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I've been sad to watch the decline of 126 over the past couple of years (change in chefs, lack of attention to presentation, some truly mediocre dishes), though I still love their lunch menu (especially the amazing salads, especially the Nicoise, which I get with seared tuna instead of the salmon). But when the management opened The Hearth, a kind of tapas bistro, upstairs, my spirits rose. There's a very European feel to the intimate space with the open flatbread oven behind the bar and the charming tables by the windows overlooking downtown. The flatbreads are excellent (especially the Mediterranean), and I usually just get several small plates with a flatbread to share among friends: the menu has changed recently, but they usually have reliably fresh mussels, authentic Belgian pommes frites, and a smoked cod brandade well worth trying. Nice wine specials, with some half-price wine nights.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingScholar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tries too hard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

for the money, they never hit the mark...they seem to try to be better than what is delivered

Helpful?
1 Thank 47david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Lovely Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

3 of us enjoyed a nice dinner here. We had the cheese tray and crab cakes for appetizers. The cheese tray was excellent with 2 kinds of cheese, walnuts, grapes, apple, balsamic and figs. I would have liked the crab cakes to be a little crisper. Entrees we tried were Coq au Vin, Salmon and Shrimp &, scallop linquini. All were prepared and presented well. Service was good. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this quiet and not pretentious restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank st07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
237 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“For "Graduated" Tastes in the Heart of College Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were in Iowa City for a football weekend and wanted a dinner that was a few steps above the standard undergraduate burger basket fare. After stopping in its new sister gastropub, Moonrakers, for lunch, we were so impressed we decided to come back to One Twenty Six for dinner. Great decision! We did not have reservations but had only a short wait, during which we were escorted to the bar area by a polite greeter. The dining area is small and intimate. Tables are close together but cleverly separated. I enjoyed a beet salad to start. It was a perfect balance of delicate greens and managably-sized beets in a vinegarette that complimented without overpowering the earthiness of the salad. My husband had the beef tenderloins for dinner - juicy, flavorful and perfectly cooked. I had the butternut squash in phyllo and is was fantastic - fresh, a little too hot but nicely finished with mascarpone. The creme' brulee for dessert was the only disappointment - a small serving with a good sugar crust on top but the bottom was cold with vanilla beans settling in the dish.
Overall I highly recommend this restaurant. We will definitely come back - for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1,070 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“A nice white tablecloth restaurant in Iowa City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Good food is the most important aspect of a restaurant and this one met that goal. The seafood linguini dish was aromatic of lemon and tomato but perhaps a little more rich than the menu description suggested. The bread was fresh, crusty on the outside and moist on the inside, but perhaps not so French. The soup of the day was tangy and interesting. My colleagues enjoyed their green salads with roasted beets, walnuts and cheese and their pork chop was excellently done. The wine list was extensive and our bubbly selection was served with panache. With its brick walls and wooden floors, the structure resounds with the noise of the patrons and servers on a busy weekend night, making it somewhat difficult to converse if your party is larger than two.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Twenty Six also viewed

 

Been to One Twenty Six? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing