We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful and delicious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Flavors

Thai Flavors
Ranked #133 of 246 Restaurants in Iowa City
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is a delightful place very close to the center of downtown Iowa City. Excellent, excellent food and great prices. The ambiance is lacking, but who cares. Come for the food and the super friendly staff.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank zippyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    8
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“TERRIBLE DISGUSTING”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

terrible, disgusting, this place is too old. looks like in thailand! you don't know what's in your food!!! too dirty.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SO GOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

I've been living above Thai Flavors for the past semester and it's sooooooo amazing. I go there all the time and it's absolutely amazing (except a bit pricey). I always get the Yellow Curry with Tofu and I make it spicy. If you love Curry as much as I do, it's totally worth the 9 dollars it costs. The wait staff recognizes me and is always super friendly and quick. I've never eaten at the restaurant itself but I always get carryout. They always give me a good estimate of when to arrive so I don't have to wait.

My favorite restaurant in Iowa City, hands down!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethiowacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Incredible! Our new favorite Asian.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We moved here from the Twin Cities and haven't been able to find a good Asian restaurant yet. My wife went in for dinner last night and came home to tell me "we need to eat lunch there tomorrow.

This place has everything a truly great Asian restaurant needs: unimpressive decor, kind but not flashy waitstaff, and INCREDIBLE food.

A previous review said they have the best crab Rangoon, which I completely agree with (although I didn't like their pot stickers). The pad Thai is also incredible.

Prices are great, huge lunch for $6.99.

We'll be back soon!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dharma19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coralville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NO flavor in "thai flavor" food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

i read the reviews on trip advisor and went here. tried the food thrice.
there was no flavor at all in the food. we generally love the thai food and always prefer to eat thai food if we have to go out for lunch/dinner.
the food here was very disappointing.

Helpful?
1 Thank redlove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Flavors also viewed

 

Been to Thai Flavors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing