We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Texas Margaritas”
Review of Saloon

Saloon
Ranked #92 of 258 Restaurants in Iowa City
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Texas Margaritas”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The ambiance is cool and kitchy! The place is long and narrow, and serves delicious Texas margaritas! The service was good for a college town. They have drink and food specials daily from 2-6pm, and they are super deals! We will definitely return next time we are in town! The chips were overly salty that we had with our excellent fresh guacamole.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank musthavebeachsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently good and reasonably priced”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The atmosphere is loud, but folks are always enjoying themselves. There is a good reason why this place is usually full. The wall decorations and the bar are fascinating and so much better than loud TV's. The service is always prompt and courteous. The food is always well prepared and I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Food...upset stomach”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Fusion Tex-mex.
If you have a sensitive stomach beware, the spices and flavoring they use in a lot of things will spark indigestion.
Outdoor seating in the heart of the pedmall offers a fun experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scubagirlj18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quick lunch and drinks”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I ate lunch here with a group of 4. The tamales were very good that I ordered. I also tried some of the fish tacos my girlfriend ordered. They were also good. The salsa that comes with the chips and salsa was awesome. The sangria/margarita drink on special was good but super sweet. I liked the atmosphere and would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winedinepartytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fusion Mexican-American Fare Done Very Well”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

With four of us plus appetizers we got to sample a number of things. Who would've thought you could improve on basic chips and queso, but theirs were sooo good. Tacos, enchiladas, burritos all excellent. Even tried their twist on a tenderloin - milanese torta - which was very good as well. Try the Meltdown Margaritas - you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saloon also viewed

 
Iowa City, IA
 

Been to Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing