We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative sandwiches and soups, very tasty!”
Review of Her Soup Kitchen

Her Soup Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 258 Restaurants in Iowa City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
iowa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Creative sandwiches and soups, very tasty!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had a veggie sandwich there a few months ago that was delightful. I am looking forward to going back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmw133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    38
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places to eat”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you want to feel good about where you eat, and enjoy delicious handmade healthy food, you need to stop in. We try to eat here a couple times a month, either for lunch or Sunday brunch. It's a small place, but it's worth it (if you have to wait). They also take great care to provide local and organic food options, and go to great lengths to minimize their food and trash waste through composting and recycling, so you are supporting a sustainable local business!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brionhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value, Good Food!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We visited on Mother's Day. Owner greeted us and provided a fresh flower (which our 4 year old picked out) and a great meal for Mother's Day. Enjoyed the Cubano sandwich and the Burrito (added to menu recently). Will definitely visit again soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank section132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“High quality food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This place is small but delicious. We went for Sunday lunch and I really enjoyed the chicken salad sandwich and chili. The price is right too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Floyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoy this for lunch on Sunday, but it can get quite crowded, even when you think the students are not around. Soup and salads are delicious, as is the cucumber water. Atmosphere is pure Iowa City.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IowaCityMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Her Soup Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Her Soup Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing