We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Certificate of Excellence
Story City, IA, United States
1 review
“Great Night Stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a newer property and the staff is friendly and helpful. The property is well kept and I would definetly stay here again. The breakfast was very good and they made sure everything was fresh and asked if we wanted anything that was not out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    128
    25
    7
    10
See reviews for
192
77
25
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverwoods, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is not our usual Iowa City hotel choice, but we were very pleased the minute we walked in. I am not sure how long the Hampton has been at this location, but the interior looked and smelled brand new. The customer service was great and I think the hotel prides itself on cleanliness. We would definitely stay here again. My only suggestions for improvement: The hotel does not have a restaurant/bar/room service. They do not allow small dogs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location, great value, great staff. This hotel is clean with free breakfast and parking. All staff very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff always asking if we needed anything. We were in town for a relatives funeral and stayed 5 days. Excellent hotel experience!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eldora, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

awesome just make sure your keys work so you dont have to make trips back to the lobby with heavy bags and the cooling needs to work for sleeping times to be comfortable people were friendly and the place was clean I felt safe there it was quiet

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a relatively newer Hampton Inn, and in an area relatively close to the University of Iowa and downtown. Not large, but very nice, with safe, secure parking. We were attending a wedding, and I checked out of the Hampton in Coralville after one night (disappointed), and moved to this one which was much nicer. If you're going to stay at one of the Hilton Hotels chain, this Hampton in the university area is well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for one night for a conference. Very clean and had everything I needed for a one night stay. The breakfast in the morning was hot and tasty. They had unlimited tea, coffee, and hot water throughout the whole day and night. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had to stay overnight for some business at the University of Iowa Hospital. This hotel was located near the college/hospital in a quiet area. Lots of restaurants around in walking distance. Hotel was very clean, staff helpful, rooms seemed in almost new condition and they have a great AM free breakfast. I would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank juliamarlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
447 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
2.5 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Iowa City
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area

Property: Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
Address: 4 Sturgis Corner Dr, Iowa City, IA 52246-5617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing