We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is not our usual Iowa City hotel choice, but we were very pleased the minute we walked in. I am not sure how long the Hampton has been at this location, but the interior looked and smelled brand new. The customer service was great and I think the hotel prides itself on cleanliness. We would definitely stay here again. My only suggestions for improvement: The hotel does not have a restaurant/bar/room service. They do not allow small dogs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 471 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location, great value, great staff. This hotel is clean with free breakfast and parking. All staff very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff always asking if we needed anything. We were in town for a relatives funeral and stayed 5 days. Excellent hotel experience!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

awesome just make sure your keys work so you dont have to make trips back to the lobby with heavy bags and the cooling needs to work for sleeping times to be comfortable people were friendly and the place was clean I felt safe there it was quiet

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a relatively newer Hampton Inn, and in an area relatively close to the University of Iowa and downtown. Not large, but very nice, with safe, secure parking. We were attending a wedding, and I checked out of the Hampton in Coralville after one night (disappointed), and moved to this one which was much nicer. If you're going to stay at one of the Hilton Hotels chain, this Hampton in the university area is well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for one night for a conference. Very clean and had everything I needed for a one night stay. The breakfast in the morning was hot and tasty. They had unlimited tea, coffee, and hot water throughout the whole day and night. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had to stay overnight for some business at the University of Iowa Hospital. This hotel was located near the college/hospital in a quiet area. Lots of restaurants around in walking distance. Hotel was very clean, staff helpful, rooms seemed in almost new condition and they have a great AM free breakfast. I would definitely stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank juliamarlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My van refused to re-start after I got a coffee, 26 miles west of Iowa City at 6:00 AM of a Sunday in late October, heading from Cleveland to San Francisco. Towed back to a dealer a third of a mile from this Hampton Inn, which I spotted passing by; the driver later dropped me off and I walked into a situation where I was met by extraordinary courtesy, attention and outright kindness on the part of the Hampton Inn desk staff, a terrific consolation breakfast (given the hour and my van breakdown), and a spotless and well-appointed room -- this was truly like an oasis, for me. By mid-day Monday the fairly simple starter wiring problem had been discovered and fixed, and I was on my long way again -- well-rested thanks to the Hampton Inn, and even having enjoyed my own Sunday's walking / photographic tour of Iowa City -- a lovely American river town worth writing home about.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
455 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Iowa City
Travelodge Iowa City
#4 of 7 in Iowa City
605 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area

Address: 4 Sturgis Corner Dr, Iowa City, IA 52246-5617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range: $129 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing