We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like going home to stay with mom !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexis Park Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexis Park Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Iowa City B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“like going home to stay with mom !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was working up in iowa city for about 7 months, from nov. thru april. im from out uof state so didn't go back home much. the people that worked at the inn made me feel right at home. I lived in a nice newly remodeled townhouse. had everything I needed. The staff took great care of me, if I had any problems they took care of it quick. like I said I felt like I was family.

Room Tip: I was in two different rooms both were clean and weel keep. can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    7
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
14
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

After booking my reservation at this hotel, and then having to cancel due to weather. I explained to the women on the phone that I could not fly IFR to get there as my NAV radio was out of service. Since they had a no worries IFR cancel policy i thought no big deal. She said that she did not understand and would have to check and call me back. Not only did she not call me back but they then went ahead and charged me the full price. When I talked to the manager she said that i have to call to make reservations if i want to use that policy. No where on the website does it say that you can't book online. Then she kept saying that my problem was mechanical not that the weather was poor. She was looking for any reason to steal from me. So unless you want a headache go else where in town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank railman2546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexis2009, Manager at Alexis Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We offer discount and free taxi ride to and from our hotel to the Iowa City airport just for pilots. We always honor what what we offer. Although our website does say for private pilots to call in to make a reservation (just so we know they are pilots to issue our specials to pilots), it's fine for private pilots to book online but they would have to convey the message to us somehow that they are pilots. Guest booked online and agreed to the given cancellation policy online (Guest even received a confirmation) and Guest never mentioned he was a pilot until he called in to cancel after check in time. We do offer pilots IFR cancellation policy for poor flying-in weather, not mechanical or airport troubles. Guest claimed that because of the rainy weather in our city but we didn't have any rain on that day and the flying-in weather was fine. We also offer Guest to use it toward a free future stay but Guest refused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I've stayed here at least a dozen times in the last year and a half. Whenever I come to iowa city always stay here. It's always been very clean. Huge rooms. Flat screen tv's and jacuzzi. Hanna and the whole staff has always been very polite and informative.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgjnsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

http://www.kcrg.com/news/crime/Iowa-City-Police-Alexis-Park-Inn-Standoff-252393041.html , When we returned to our room after a concert, we entered a hallway filled with police & a tacticle defense team. Alexis Park Inn made no attempt to contact us or to remove us from pending danger. After several hours of screaming, banging on doors, K9s barking, etc. a window was broken & tear gas dispensed into the room directly below us. Obviously, we were very frightened and got no sleep. Not only did they knowingly place us in a VERY dangerous situation and expose us to tear gas, management refused to credit the charge. I understand that this incident was not fault of the facility, but that is NO way to do business. also note that this is on a very busy street with lots of truck noise.

Room Tip: stay as far away from the road as possible if you are willing to take a chance and try it al all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelerCOTAPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexis2009, Manager at Alexis Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
It is an unfortunate and uninvited incident that happened at our hotel and registration was under another person's name. The Guest wrote this review stayed on the third floor and the incident was on the 2nd floor. Guest didn't make any request to be moved or complaints until the next morning at check out time while asking for the credit. We did offered a partial credit. We do sincerely apologize for the incident. Authority had knowledge of occupied rooms but did not instructed us to evacuate or move Guest or any other occupied guests on the same floor. It was police works and we weren't told what their plans were. At least half of our guests are extended stay whom stay from a month to over a year. Our hotel is not noisy. Guest booked a standard room but was upgraded free to a 2 bedrooms suite because our standard rooms were all rented. Guest's room has a large balcony, as with all of our top floor rooms. We are located off of the main traffic road. If any traffic noise, it can be heard out on the balcony or if balcony door is open. We are one of the next closest hotels to downtown and the University of Iowa campus. Comparing the rate, the room size, and the noise to the downtown hotels, our rates are about 25% cheaper, rooms are larger and newly remodeled plus no constant noise of a college downtown but close enough that's within walking distance or a very short cab ride. We hope that this one time uninvited incident doesn't deter any guest from seeing what our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night for our honeymoon and we really enjoyed ourselves and the staff was nice. We also received a nice room with a kitchenette for about 70 dollars a night. And since we enjoyed ourselves so much and got a nice deal on price we decided that we would go back for our first anniversary. We got there at about 3 or so and waited in the lobby for probably 20 minutes before someone finally came to the desk. A young man helped us after he helped the few other people that were already waiting when we arrived. We told him that we were here a year ago today and that we came back for our anniversary. He barely even acknowledge us talking, which we didn't exactly expect a party or anything but we would have maybe appreciated a thank you or congrats? He booked us for out room, we only stayed one night this trip, and we payed $95 dollars. I was very unhappy about that because we had not expected it to be that high. We get to our room and it is very very small with just a chair and a bed. There was a coffee maker at least, but no outlet high enough for the cord to reach. We ended up having to put the coffee maker on the floor just so we could use it. My husband had went down to the lobby, it was snowing and very very cold, to ask the teller for a different room because we were pretty disappointed in ours. And the teller was gone again. We tried calling from the room phone but there was no directory at all anywhere in the room so we had no idea how to get a hold of them. We had planned to make this an annual thing and return every year on our anniversary. But unfortunately I don't believe that we will be staying there next year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitneerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexis2009, Manager at Alexis Park Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We thank you Guest for taking the time to write the review. However, none of our rooms are "small" and all of our rooms are newly remodeled. Guest stayed in our 1 King standard. Even in our standard rooms and to be specific, it comes with a King bed, 2 night stands and lamps, a flat screen TV, a desk, desk lamp and chair, a sitting area with 2 lounging chairs (please note that most standard rooms in a regular hotel has no sitting area for 2), a coffee table and a floor lamp, a mini fridge and a microwave and a large balcony that the room opens up to. Our outlets are in compliance and not lower than any normal outlets and the coffee maker is hooked up into the outlet. We do have a phone instruction underneath the phone and also in our room booklet directing guests to dial 0 to get to the desk. We certainly do have bigger rooms like 1 bedroom suite, 2 bedrooms suites, 3 bedrooms suites and townhouses. These rooms come with separate bedrooms, separate living room, mutiple flat screen TVs and a full kitchen with full-sized appliances. We do take time to train our new employees and we feel all of our staff do provide exceptional service to our guests so we do sincerely apologize that this desk staff showed lack of appreciation to Guest. We will bring it up to his attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worth, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from visiting and this hotel and it was a pleasant surprise. We had the 2 bedroom suite and the was plenty of room for the 4 of us and my 2 pets. Clean place and helpful staff. Still remodeling but I bet it will be nice when their done. $6.00 cab ride it the center of town. Would stay there again!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This na great hotel with all the comforts of home away from home, have stayed here for every hopital visit.Each room comes with refridrator stove dishwasher and coffee maker. most have wirlpool tubs . Close to shopping and hospitals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
2.7 mi away
Coralville Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
hotelVetro: studio suites & convention center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Park Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Park Inn & Suites

Property: Alexis Park Inn & Suites
Address: 1165 S Riverside Dr, Iowa City, IA 52246-5714
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Alexis Park Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexis Park Inn is the only Iowa City hotel located near the Airport, downtown, University of Iowa campus / hospitals and Kinnick Stadium. We offer an alternative hotel experience at an affordable price. We are Iowa City's only TRUE extended stay hotel. Our wide variety of room styles includes suites, full kitchens, whirlpools, balconies, honeymoon suites, townhouses, and multi-bedrooms. Our establishment features home-like decor and layout with a friendly customer oriented staff. All of our suites are newly refurbished and include new pillow top beds and flat screen TVs. All of suites are available nightly or long term. So why pay chain hotels high rates to receive a standard room and service when you can choose the Alexis Park Inn & Suites?! In short, whether you are relocating, working in town, needing a temporarily place to call home or just visiting the area, the Alexis Park Inn & Suites is your long-term and short-term "home away from home"!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Alexis Park Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Park Inn And Suites
Alexis Park Hotel Iowa City
Alexis Park Inn & Suites Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing