We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leaf Kitchen

Leaf Kitchen
Ranked #25 of 246 Restaurants in Iowa City
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
iowa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Leaf Kitchen has a friendly atmosphere and nice choices on the breakfast menu. My favorite is the tomato feta omelet. Give it a try!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmw133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another great IC restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

For a city its size, Iowa City has an unusual selection of good eateries. Leaf Kitchen offers excellent brunch in a very cozy setting. It is a little bit away from downtown (about a mile) in a neighborhood that is not known for its restaurants. Contrary to other reviewers, we have always had an excellent and friendly service and the food is nothing short of excellent.

I am giving them 5 stars based on my brunch and dinner experience but this was by far my favorite spot for dinner in IC. They stopped being open at night for some time and perhaps they still are not open for dinner but if they are, go check it out. Brunch itself gets 4 starts.

Leaf Kitchen is one of the places I miss most from IC.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gustatorius T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great ambience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We go often from the SF Bay Area to Iowa City for family visits; this was our first time at Leaf, and it was like a discovery! A terrific brunch menu, obviously popular, hence crowded, healthy and tasty food, and portions not skimpy. Yes, a bit noisy, but worth it!


Helpful?
Thank babubenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainsworth, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Poor Service, not just a little bad, horrible. My review must be 110 characters, how may times can I say Poor Service before I make 100?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aitch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My new favorite breakfast place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Leaf Kitchen is a small restaurant with room for about 30 seats (including three at the counter). They make everything from scratch and have a limited menu, so you you'll know you're getting only the best. I would always encourage locals and newcomers to try the Leaf Kitchen. You'll be back for more. Cheers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shanem-mts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaf Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Leaf Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing