We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
1 review
“Recent Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

It was a decent hotel. The service was incredible. Parth was one of the most hospitable hotel managers I've ever met

Good price. Nice hot tub. I would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a decent place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Allen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I really appreciate your kind words about our service.

It gives us pleasure to make sure that our guests have a comfortable, enjoyable stay. we are glad to know that we were able to have a part in making your trip a little more smoother.

Thank you for staying at the Clarion Highlander Hotel, and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    39
    37
    20
See reviews for
60
34
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, IA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Check in staff was friendly and efficient. Room was clean when I got there. Flat screen TV with cable. Had a good night's sleep. Some areas near the front desk were under renovation but this was not a problem. Check out was quick. Had a good stay and looking forward to more in the future!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Martin516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.

We are excited at the Clarion Highlander Hotel. We are in the process of renovating our new bar called Against the Grain. We are also renovating a brand-new fitness center. I am sure you will enjoy our new amenities on your next trip here.

We look forward to having you here again,

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Today Jeffrey was extremely helpful with our travel plans given the impact of the government shut down. Extremely professional and courteous!! I will always consider your property when traveling in the area. Appreciate your assistance!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you for taking the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Jeffery and all the staff at the Clarion Highlander Hotel in Iowa City are very happy to here that you had a great stay and enjoyed our service.

We look forward to your next visit to the Clarion Highlander Hotel.

Sincerely,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way through Iowa. We found the hotel through the hotel coupon booklet at the Iowa Welcome centre. As soon as we told the front desk we had the coupon, he told us the price on the coupon right away (about $20 less than their regular price).
From the outside, the hotel looks like a conference centre which it is, but not a welcoming looking hotel. But once inside, it's a different story. Very impressive.
We were given a first floor room off the pool with a table and chairs just outside our door, which we absolutely loved. We took advantage of the pool and tub spa and then sat at our table to have a couple of drinks. Very relaxing. At first, we had the pool to ourselves but then a few families showed up with screaming kids so we worried a little about the noise when we were ready for bed. But, by 11pm, all was quiet and we slept well.
The room was a little worn but very clean which is more important to us. We had a king bed which was extremely comfortable. Free wifi and a great breakfast that was included.
This hotel was a great find for us and another one we would have passed by if not for the hotel coupon booklet.
Would definitely stay there again. In fact, we didn't really want to leave, we wished we could have spent a couple more nights there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOG-dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel. We are so glad to read your review of our hotel.

We are glad you were able to get a great rate with the coupon book. We always try to provide a great value to our guests. All of our staff are very happy to hear about your pleasant experience as they work hard to make sure every guest feels the same way as you.

We look forward to giving you another excellent experience on your next trip to Iowa City.

Sincerely,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights, it could use a remodel, but it was comfortable, clean, friendly, breakfast was good. I would not stay here for the regular price they were charging, but because my folks stay here in the summer when they visit Iowa they give them a deal and it was the right price for an average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy to know that you had a comfortable, friendly experience at our hotel.

We are continuing to make improvements to our hotel. This year, we are renovating our restaurant. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Iowa City.

Thank you,

Parth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cordial welcome and check out.
Appears worn and furniture outdated.
Rooms are not sound proof. Not hotel's fault, but loud children and adults woke us up up at 2 am.
Good continental breakfast included. Good value for price charged.Very large pool and hot tub.
Would stay again if price low, eg Priceline.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time aside to review out hotel. Firstly, i would like to apologize for being disturbed in the middle of the night from noise by others. We want all our guests to have a good night rest when they stay at the Clarion Highlander Hotel.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. We pride ourselves in providing good value to our guests. Especially for those who are on trips. We look forward to having the chance to provide you with an excellent stay in the future.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan. MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I pulled off the highway too tired to drive any further and I am glad that I found this Clarion hotel. Great front desk service. I was able to get a great rate, too, as the hotel was not booked midweek. Lucky me, I just happened to land there on a night that a wine tasting was going on in the lobby. Nice touch. Manager Jeffery Hickman met me with a great smile upon check out, too. As I told him, I look for two main things. I don't need the fanciest hotel, but I want great customer service and a very clean room. You will get both here.

Room Tip: The pool is open until 11 p.m., so choose a room that is not poolside if you have to get up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyLynn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parth D, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Clarion Highlander.

All of our staff appreciate your feedback. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the wine tasting also. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thank you,

Parth Dholakia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Iowa City
Travelodge Iowa City
#5 of 6 in Iowa City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
2.8 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Clarion Highlander Hotel And Conference Center Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing