We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden charges & problems with checkout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Check in went well. Young man was friendly. Room smelled clean & was clean but very worn & outdated. I was just staying for one night so that didn't matter that much. The price was right. Location was ok but I had to drive a ways to find a place to eat. My room was quiet. The shower had good pressure. Breakfast had the usual. The eggs & sausage were awful. Waffles were good. They did have hardboiled eggs. Had to ask for hot water for tea. Poor gal working there was helping with a convention plus hotel guests. She was trying het best. Checking out, the gal I believe her name was Joy never asked how my stay was. She just said sign her & did I want a copy if my receipt. Not a thank you not anything more. Minutes after I left I noticed a "safe" charge. I called back. It took 3 times for someone to pick up. I asked Joy, does everyone get that charge no matter what? She said yes unless they ask it be removed. She said she would make the adjustment. No apology. Because of the checkout experience I am not sure if I would return to this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 212 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed for a hockey tournament over a weekend. Pretty nice pool area, plenty of room for groups to get together. Location is a bit far away from anything though. Right off of interstate, no restraunt close by. There was a mix up with my payment where I was overcharged quitge a bit, but the staff eventually got it straightened out by the middle of the next week.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoosierclone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Hesitant to stay here based on other reviews, HOWEVER, was pleasantly suprised how GOOD it was. New carpet in hallways. No untoward odors. (our room was NOT poolside). Hot tub IS in working order despite hotel's website stating it wasn't. Breakfast had lots of choices even on the weekday mornings: 4 juice choices, fresh fruit, yogurt, 3 cereal choices, waffles, sausage, biscuits and gravy, eggs. Front desk staff VERY friendly. Only complaints are that it is a little hard to find off I-80 (small signage) and breakfast is only served until 9am (even on weekends). Coffee and teas are available 24 hrs a day though. We stayed 3 nights and were very satisfied with the accomodations.

Room Tip: If you need peace and quiet, stay away from the pool-side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I stay at this hotel quite often for conferences. This time around, my experience was the best so far. I used to dread the smell of chlorine in the room, especially if it is facing the indoor pool. However, this time when I got into the room, the room smelled fresh and there was hardly a scent of the chlorine. The room and bathroom were clean. Front desk staff was very friendly and cheerful. They were also quick and accurate in answering my questions about my reservation. Food service staff were also nice and professional.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe_Martin516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker_detroit, Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Hello Joe:

The staff at the Clarion Highlander would like to thank you for the great comments regarding our staff and facilities. We have been making an extra effort with our housekeeping personnel and its nice to see that you are seeing the benefits of that.

See you at next year's conference and thank you for your feedback!

Richard Walker
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Big Michigan game stay, so not a lot of good choices, but too far away from downtown for the $200 price. The rooms were noisy, smokey, and not very clean. Breakfast was the highlight, but average at best. Not a bad place and plenty of room, but too far away and make sure you ask for NON smoking room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker_detroit, Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Greetings:

Thank you for you review of our property. I have gone ahead and shared you comments with our Housekeeping team and we will ensure that these issues are dealt with asap. Thank you for your great comments on our free breakfast.

We hope to see you again the next time you are in Iowa City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were fortunate to find this room a few days before a big football weekend in Iowa City. This was the only room left. I was quoted $199 for a King Suite non smoking directly with hotel. We arrived ready to sleep around 10:30 to find our room was right off of the pool and there were many folks sitting and drinking and kids swimming. Our window faced the indoor pool and the noise was plentiful. In the morning we complained that no one told us about the location of our room which we felt was important info. They did clear the pool area when we called the front desk. Also in the AM my husband reiterated this and they did compensate him with a discount on the room.. Room was clean and would stay there again but not facing the pool!

Room Tip: Not facing the pool if you like to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank drommom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker_detroit, Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Greetings:

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that our front desk staff accommodated you properly and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Richard Walker
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed her over November 4 & 5. We had read some of the reviews and were a little concerned. Our stay was fine. The room was fine. There were some cosmetic defects with the room but I probably wouldn't have noticed if I wasn't looking for them. The hotel could probably use an update, but I wouldn't notice if I wasn't looking for it based on some of the reviews. We got in Friday and our room was right off of the pool. There was hardly anybody there and our kids had a ball playing in the pool. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoParrotheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rwalker_detroit, Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Greetings:

This is Richard Walker with the Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center in Iowa City IA. On behalf of the management and staff of our hotel, i would like to thank you for the great comments that you noted in your review. We will go ahead and share your letter with our team. We hope you stay with us the next time you are in town

Richard Walker
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Iowa City
Travelodge Iowa City
#5 of 7 in Iowa City
626 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#3 of 7 in Iowa City
465 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
2.9 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#7 of 7 in Iowa City
104 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#15 of 21 in Coralville
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2525 N Dodge St, Iowa City, IA 52245-9556 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range: $64 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Clarion Highlander Hotel And Conference Center Iowa City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing