We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge Iowa City. Basic Comforts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Iowa City
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 623 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Cecelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Dirty bathroom. Looked like someone had puked on the toilet and it was minimally clean. Bedding was sketchy. Pillows were the thickness of plywood and felt like you put your head on plywood. Refrigerator was a fancy cooler with no ice included. Breakfast was virtually non-existent - food was in plastic storage bins and you served yourself out of the storage bins. Tables were dirty and sticky. Had to wait to check in because the front desk was unattended. Desk clerk appeared about 10 minutes after our arrival coming out of a room with a young man - hmmmm is all I can say on that one. Stay here only if you are attending a U of Iowa football game and will be so drunk upon your return that you won't be noticing the trashy conditions. Not a value at ANY price!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Meanmom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Comasen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lobby was clean then we entered the extremely hot hallway that leads to the rooms, passing the cloudy pool, the pool looked like dirty bath water. Enter in the room which looks like a rest home and smelled like dirty dogs. The toilet was so low may as well been a hole in the floor, towels were dingy, thankfully we had our own. The curtains were stained looked out the window to see a beer can on the window pane with bugs flying around it. Went to Walmart to buy cleaning supplies Lysol and bleach spray. Came back and cleaned then the bugs came out. Never Again will I stay here it should be shut down, cleaned and remodeled.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2626_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I worked in a hotel for the last four years and if my housekeeping supervisor saw this room, she would fire me on the spot. There was soap scum on the tub walls, the curtains were absolutely the fithiest thing i have ever seen (they refused to change them out as it was "monthly work". I can tell you its been MONTHS since they worked on that), the 'mini fridge' they list as an amenity is apparently just a cooler that plugs into the wall and doesn't keep anything cool at all, the 'wifi' they list is also crap. I only stayed here because they had Wifi and I like to skype my kids when I'm away, but they had to continuously reset the modem for me. None of the housekeepers spoke any english at all, which makes it really hard to ask them for ANYTHING. The front desk girl is quite possibly the rudest, laziest person that I have ever met. She has no business being the face of any hotel. The security door is broken and doesnt require a key to enter, which means anyone can get in. also, the latch lock for my door was broken, so anyone who does have a key can just come in whenever they please. The carpet is sticky (like they havent cleaned it in years). All in all, this is the second worst hotel I have ever stayed at out of about 95 hotels. If I hadnt had to pay in advance, I would have walked my butt straight out. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL. I will be writing to Priceline as well in hopes of having it deleted from their travel site

Room Tip: If you want a good room, pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.5 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
464 reviews
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#12 of 21 in Coralville
470 reviews
2.3 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#7 of 7 in Iowa City
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Iowa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Iowa City

Address: 2216 N Dodge St, I-80,Exit 246, Iowa City, IA 52245-9593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range: $52 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Iowa City 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Iowa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Iowa City Hotel Iowa City
Travel Lodge Iowa City
Iowa City Travel Lodge
Iowa City Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing