We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I stayed here for the price and the service was great and definitely up to my expectations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Iowa City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Iowa City
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I stayed here for the price and the service was great and definitely up to my expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stay for business and had stopped staying here a few years back. It wasn't clean. I thought I would try again because of convenience and ease of the attached restaurant. Very pleasing. The manager Cor was very personable and great to talk sports with. It is a pleasure to be away from home and to be comfortable. thank you

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellywh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    110
    117
    126
    122
See reviews for
229
105
49
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

I called and spoke to an employee to ask about the less than perfect reviews. I was told it was under new management and that getting a room on first floor would be better. It is an older building with older decor but that doesn't affect my sleeping. The bathroom was mostly clean but small. The hair dryer holder has a layer of stuck-on dust as did a couple lamps. I did like the shower. I'm tall (6 foot) and did not have to bend over to get my head under the shower head. The room had a newer refrigerator (that needed defrosted) & microwave. Walls are thin as we could hear the neighbors TV that wasn't that loud. The bed was nice and comfortable and the pillow was perfect for me. The biggest turn off for me was the breakfast area. The counters with the food were a mess. No drip tray under the waffle maker so batter was puddled on the counter, bags of bread and bagels standing open--whose dirty hands reached into these bags before I got there? A knife was sticking out of the open peanut butter jar. Who might have licked the knife and stuck it back in? While this might be how my family does it at home, I don't think this is sanitary for a hotel. Will I stay here again? For the price I paid, probably.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Have stayed here several times recently on business. Very convenient, just off I80. Staff is very helpful. Front desk manager, Coor, is always willing to make everything perfect.

Room Tip: Some rooms have different amenities. Talk to Coor if you need anything special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This place was not bad, but not good either. If you are just here to sleep, it may serve your needs, but realize what you are getting: an old, somewhat rundown unit that has seen better days, probably 20-25 years ago. Consider elsewhere if you can...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fhsbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Been staying here 3 nights a week for the past 3 months and have been impressed with the service and the price. Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dackley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines ia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

For the money, this is a great place. Rooms are clean, spacious. Quiet. Friendly staff. Beds are a bit older and are doubles, not Queens. Decor is older, but I really don't care.
The Indian family who works during the day is extrememly helpful and kind. Coor is the new manager and did a tremendous job making me feel welcome. Our room did not have a fridge when we checked in, so we asked for one. They were there first thing in the a.m. with the fridge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Both clerks that we talked to were very friendly and helpful. They truly cared about our experience and wanted to help. When we called the front desk they took care of any needs we had. The building is older but very clean and the bathrooms are nicely updated. It was a great room for the price and fit our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamiemay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
3.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
0.5 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#4 of 6 in Iowa City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#14 of 18 in Coralville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Iowa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Iowa City

Property: Travelodge Iowa City
Address: 2216 North Dodge St, I-80,Exit 246, Iowa City, IA 52245-9593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Iowa City 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Travelodge Iowa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Iowa City Hotel Iowa City
Travel Lodge Iowa City
Iowa City Travel Lodge
Iowa City Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing