We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Iowa City
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Looks fine in the pictures. 2nd nastiest place I have ever stayed. Nothing this gross is worth saving $50.
Bed was ok (although we checked for vermin before getting in). But even though you get into the room through an interior corridor, the room had another door to the OUTSIDE for "patio" access, i.e., a converted old motor inn. I couldn't sleep because I kept imaging a crazed killer breaking in and taking out our family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SardineRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 617 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

Well we stayed in Travelodge In end of march and looks like they have just updated Bathrooms. it's nice to stayed in those updated rooms. Desk staff was good and helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregJohnson1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

It was really nice, especially for a one night stay

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcat1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel 2 to 4 times per year over the last few years, since our children and grandchildren live in the area. They used to offer decent, friendly service and comfortable accomodations, but it is all disappearing. The beds are broken down. There are water stains in the walls and ceilings. The service is terrible. (Oh yeah, they will promise everything, but deliver nothing) Once, I had to move a refrigerator and microwave from another room because they "thought there was one there". The next visit, they promised, but did not deliver until I became quite upset at the clerk who stated that he "just didn't think THAT was going to happen". I have always called ahead and requested certain rooms and amenities, but the customer service is now non-existent! Good luck getting anything you ask for. We will gladly spend twice as much and get much better service across town.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kings_on_the_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We often stay in pet friendly hotels with our dog, but most hotels realize that there will be humans in the room with the dog. This room was only appropriate for the dog. Holes in the wall, curtain rods falling off the wall, stale, stale smell. Disgusting. Previous review had a response from the manager saying they replaced carpet with tile in pet rooms. Yes, they did. But that's all, and they didn't even do a quality job of that. There is still a carpet border around the bottom of the walls. Yuck, yuck, yuck.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdeuce26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a cross-country road trip for the holidays. We stayed at this hotel on our way home, along with our dog. I can't say what the rooms that do not allow pets look like, but the rooms that do allow pets are disgusting.

There was a terrible odor, holes in the sheets and blankets, hair in the sink, and the bed broke as soon as we sat on it.

The wallpaper was peeling and the faucet in the sink did not work properly.

This is one of the worst hotels I've stayed in for a while.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank desconocido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kammerer, General Manager at Travelodge Iowa City, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

I am sorry you had a bad experience at our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns. I am very happy to inform you that we are taking the carpet out of our pet rooms and replacing it with beautiful ceramic tile. The owner has also purchased new beds and we are redoing our bathrooms, purchasing new drapes . The hotel is getting a facelift!!
I hope you try us again.
Sincerely,
Joey Sable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Okay, so this is a 2 star hotel so I didn't expect any luxury. However, the phone didn't work, and the taps on the shower were so hard to turn, that after awhile I gave up. My husband tried and finally was able to turn the faucet after working it for 5 minutes. The beds were not very comfortable, but I have slept in worse. The room was clean but very outdated. The chairs had nails sticking out of them and could have easily hurt someone. Will we stay here again?????.......No, thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooksalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
0.5 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 7 in Iowa City
461 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
Super 8 Iowa City/Coralville
#12 of 21 in Coralville
468 reviews
2.3 mi away
Iowa House Hotel
Iowa House Hotel
#7 of 7 in Iowa City
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Iowa City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Iowa City

Address: 2216 N Dodge St, I-80,Exit 246, Iowa City, IA 52245-9593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Iowa City
Price Range: $59 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Iowa City 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Iowa City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Iowa City Hotel Iowa City
Travel Lodge Iowa City
Iowa City Travel Lodge
Iowa City Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing