We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Buffet & Shopping”

Bread Garden Market & Bakery
Ranked #14 of 253 Restaurants in Iowa City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Buffet & Shopping”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I love choosing my own food at the buffet. It's delicious! You can enjoy your meal inside or outside in pleasant surroundings. This one of the few places in town where you can buy Boar's Head meats and cheeses - our favorites! Their bread is fantastic!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 5CAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    38
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent selection and becoming one of my favorites in town”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I usually seem to find something delicious and unusual here and they do have the best of the best in some areas. The meat for example is some of the best around albeit a bit expensive but at least you have an option for a monster strip steak if you want one. Also great selection of cold cuts, salads, imports, and all around good stuff from all over. Some of the items are actually priced reasonably.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gurutogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Refreshing”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Lunch at the Bread Garden is always a great idea! Meet a friend or have a meeting! Great food, great variety. Staff is nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EAW1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good for What I Got”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have to admit that I had only coffee, drinks and pastries here. They were good, nothing spectacular. The blueberry coffee cake was a little too dry, which was surprising.

I didn't eat from the buffet, but I would do so the next time I go to IC. I sat with a friend who ate there, and her food looked and smelled delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Several times a week”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I go to the BG for meals and tea several times a week. I like the buffet for mix of protein and veggies and fruit for all meals. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There is pastry and coffee/tea section and grocery all together with the buffet. . There is seating inside and outside. Even in winter, there is heated, glass sided dining area. It is a locals favorite, a place to meet friends even if you don't have a date. It is right next to library, Vetro and Sheraton hotels and on the ped mall among shops.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread Garden Market & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bread Garden Market & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing