We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Charles City)
$110
SleepInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hartwood Inn(Charles City)
$70
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Waverly)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
10
2
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
2
2
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

In July, 2017, our family of six and 7 guests from the Bologna, Italy, area spent two nights at the Dairy Barn. Lush Iowa summer weather with sky high corn fields made the perfect atmosphere for an outdoor home cooked summer supper enjoyed on a flower ringed patio. Mounds of fresh out of the oven cookies disappeared immediately! Every room has its own bathroom...all immaculately clean. Very comfortable beds. Board games, books and magazines abound in comfortable seating areas so conducive to reading, conversation, dozing. Ponies in the barnyard, chickens clucking in their coops added to the atmosphere. Hosts are so gracious and friendly, but not intrusive. Our family will definitely make this our headquarters when we come back home to New Hampton.

Room Tip: all rooms have views of fields and farmyard. out in the country...very quiet. Very comfortable beds.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 20gretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrie E, Owner at The Dairy Barn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Thank you for the nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our B & B , and appreciate your remarks. It was fun watching the Italians reactions to their first American farm experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the b&b recently for a crafting weekend. The room was comfortable and spacious. The food however is the biggest draw. Everything was homemade with care. They made me feel welcome. Be aware I drove by the first time as I did not see a sign. I should have just trusted my gps which was right. Haha!

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank not2lost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

We have been going to the Barn for almost 20 Years every Christmas. Our whole family is always there and takes almost every room, so we kind of take over the place. The owners are always so accommodating, friendly and treat us like family. We are able to have our family pets there each year and Geri's cooking is always everyone's favorite.
It's always fun to take the pets on a walk around the grounds or take the kids to see the animals.
Thank you so much Geri and Don for always being the best hosts, and having such a wonderful place for us to celebrate Christmas year after year!

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
Thank rocknreconstruct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

This place is off the beaten path, but if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle this is the place for you. We stayed for my brother -in- laws wedding and we took up the whole place.
The rooms are very nice and clean and each has its own bath and there is a nice patio outside where everyone can hang out. The owners are very friendly and they treat you like family, if you want to strike up a conversation Don is your guy.
If you go hungry it is your own fault. Everything is made from scratch and it is so good, it is the true essence of home cooking. They even make their own syrup.
They have a friendly dog along with chickens, ducks and geese outside for the kids to enjoy. The kids may even get to feed them.
This is rural Iowa at its finest. It's not glitzy and glamorous, but if you want a good country experience this is where you should be.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

Great food, beds and wonderful conversations!! Our grandchildren love to play with Elfie, their dog. We have had many quilt retreats, bringing family to fill the barn. They generously let us sew and spread out on both floors. Don has been known to spoil the granddaughters with his homemade hot chocolate topped with whipped cream! Look forward to staying there many more times.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSANBERGMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews