We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kirit, Kapi and son were very accommodating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Indianola
Manhattan, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kirit, Kapi and son were very accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

An unexpected death in the family, recently took us to Indianola, Iowa. We chose the Apple
Tree Inn for the value and availability of rooms for many family members arriving. The accommodations were dated, but very clean. Kirit, Kapi and their son were so kind - they juggled rooms so we could all be together, they worked around us as we gathered in the lobby to play games and eat pizza, and they exhibited calmness and control one evening as we all sat in an inner hallway during a tornado warning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdavis49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
6
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

The exterior was clean and neat. Man at front counter when we checked in wasn't overly friendly, but he was polite. The hotel seemed to be older, and had some cosmetic updates (some of which seemed to be done to cover up something - like the extra wide molding along the tops of the wall). We had difficulty getting in our room -- the key (yes, they still use an actual key - not a keycard) fit in, but we had to pull on the doorknob to get the key to turn. We noticed that there was damage to the bottom of the door, it was warped. An overpowering flowery scent greeted us when we finally entered the room. Thinking it was a cleaning product, we cranked up the air conditioning and left for supper. When we came back, the scent was just as strong. There was a decent continental breakfast, but the lobby is very small - so would have been uncomfortable if there had been any others there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianola hotels

blackberry24
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

Enjoyed the location just off the main highway. Easy access. The free breakfast was a little sparse.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank blackberry24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

This was a very pleasant stay. I stayed 2 nights for an event and I was happy to come back after a busy day and relax here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AubreySwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

Apple Tree Inn is the best and most convenient place to stay in Indianola Iowa. I have been staying there about eight times a year for the last couple of years. The Inn is usually clean and quiet. There is a small, but satisfactory continental breakfast (although the orange juice can sometimes be sour). The owner and head housekeeper are friendly and courteous. The rooms are adequate, but nothing to write home about and some of the mattresses need replaced. If you have reason to stay in Indianola, this is your best option.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minneso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

This motel is spotlessly clean and a very nice place to stay. Big rooms, new TVs, free wifi, coffee maker, refrigerator. Putting in new carpet. Breakfast is fine for carb lovers, including fresh waffles (make your own). Good prices.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank RVCarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianola
11.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
13.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
11.4 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#29 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Indianola
Quality Inn Indianola
#1 of 3 in Indianola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
23.4 mi away
Red Carpet Motel - Knoxville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Property: Apple Tree Inn
Address: 1215 N Jefferson Way, Indianola, IA 50125-1457
Location: United States > Iowa > Indianola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Indianola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 60 room AAA Diamond rated motel locally owned in Indianola, Iowa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Inn Indianola, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing