We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decent place to stay...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Indianola
Mason, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A decent place to stay...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

With very limited choices in this little town, you should probably stay here.
I have business right in Indianola and need to be close... Though there may be some nicer hotels 25 min away in Des Moines.
The Apple Tree Inn is locally owned and I like that. The place is basic and your expectations should be realistic. I found the motel to be clean and well run.
I had a king bed room that cost aprox $92 per night total and to me that is an affordable nights stay and I would expect basic accomodations.
They were very pleasant to me, housekeeping was timely and they furnish a basic breakfast each morning.
The room was a decent size, bed was fine, tv was updated. A mini fridge and bath products supplied. Room, towels and bedding were clean.
Theres food and shopping within walking and a wonderful downtown 2 min drive away...
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapipatel, Owner at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Sorry for the late reply but thank you so much for the review! Safe travels and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
18
6
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I hate to pick on a local, non-chain business. However room 106 smelled so strongly of mold/must it could make your eyes water. You walked in the door and you're hit with a wall of stink. The room's a/c was running full blast, but they clearly needed a dehumidifier. Our room's dew point was through the roof. The carpet and bedding all felt wet. We felt damp as we were trying to sleep. The bathroom ceiling looked like it was about to fall in and the floor was pretty dirty. We couldn't check out fast enough and after we did, I could smell the musty odor on my clothes all day. We felt gross when we left. There was also a tacky sign on the bathroom counter telling us not to clean our shoes with their towels and to instead ask for rags. This seemed almost comical to us -- even if it is an issue, which is unfortunate, it's the cost of doing business.

The continental breakfast isn't worth bothering with. The waffle iron looked like it had never been cleaned.

I'm not a picky hotel patron and love supporting local businesses, however this place needs some help. It's really not even particularly reasonably priced as you could pay $15-$20 more to stay at a spotless hotel chain. The staff was friendly, however. It would be great if they could get rid of the moisture and odor problem as it is nice to have a non-chain option in Indianola.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrs_dunebuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
First and foremost I am sorry you weren’t satisfied with your stay with us. We take all guest comments seriously and would like to thank you for providing feedback.

Regarding the room humidity, if a guest is not comfortable we have a dehumidifier or extra fans that can be placed in the room if we are made aware of the issue.

Regarding the tacky sign I completely agree! We were hesitant to place the sign there but it got to the point where so many new towels were being thrown away that we decided to give it a try. Also with everyone “going green” this was an easy way to reduce our consumption of water, electricity, and detergent.

Regarding the free continental breakfast, we clean the waffle iron everyday and change the plates regularly. Due the popularity of the waffles the iron may not sparkling after a couple hours of use but it is definitely safe to use and still produces tasty hot waffles!

I would love to increase our rates $20! We strive to be a valuable option and we are constantly commended by our regular guests for continuously improving the property while keeping rates relatively flat over the years and staying competitive with pricier chain options.

We hope you give us another opportunity to provide you accommodations next time you are in town. Please send me an email at ppatel@appletreeindianola.com with contact information and I will do all I can to ensure your next trip is satisfactory. Thanks again for the feedback and safe travels! - Pritesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianola hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

The room was great and so was the staff. I will be returning whenever I need a place to stay in Indianola!

Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I do hotel maintenance for a living so believe me I look at EVERYTHING when I travel. The Apple Tree Inn is great. My room was large, very clean and comfy. Everything worked well and was in good repair. The furniture was slightly dated but clean and fully functional/ The staff I encountered was both helpful and courteous/

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake View, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We dropped in late without a reservation. The desk clerk was courteous and friendly. The lobby is small, yes, but I didn't plan on hanging around in the lobby, so that was not an issue. The room was reasonably priced. The rooms do use actual keys rather than key cards but it was not a problem. The room was quite large and I liked the sink area outside the bathroom. It was clean, the beds were comfortable, plenty of towels and included a dorm-size refrigerator and microwave. The heating/cooling unit in the room did not have a thermostat so it was a little difficult to get the room to stay at a constant temperature. It was basic, not luxurious, but I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The beds are very comfortable, the service is great and they owners are trying to update constantly. The breakfast area is very small but tidy and good selection. This is an older hotel so if a new chain comes to town they will have a run for their money. If they keep taking care of the little things they will be in good shape. I have stayed there now for 6 weeks and really do like the hotel

Room Tip: Try to be upstairs the air is a bit fresher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a nice, clean hotel. When we got there the hallway did not smell very well, but they must have done something as we did not notice anything the rest of our stay. Good location, rooms were fine, and clean. Overall, this hotel was worth the money and we'll use it again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indianola
13.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
11.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Des Moines Airport
11.4 mi away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#27 of 49 in Des Moines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
23.7 mi away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Knoxville, IA
12.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Property: Apple Tree Inn
Address: 1215 N Jefferson Way, Indianola, IA 50125-1457
Location: United States > Iowa > Indianola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Indianola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 60 room AAA Diamond rated motel locally owned in Indianola, Iowa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Inn Indianola, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing