We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce Place to stay”
Review of Apple Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Apple Tree Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Indianola
Reviewed September 25, 2011

The beds are very comfortable, the service is great and they owners are trying to update constantly. The breakfast area is very small but tidy and good selection. This is an older hotel so if a new chain comes to town they will have a run for their money. If they keep taking care of the little things they will be in good shape. I have stayed there now for 6 weeks and really do like the hotel

Room Tip: Try to be upstairs the air is a bit fresher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a nice, clean hotel. When we got there the hallway did not smell very well, but they must have done something as we did not notice anything the rest of our stay. Good location, rooms were fine, and clean. Overall, this hotel was worth the money and we'll use it again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Our room smelled of cat urine. The beds were made, but were soiled completely through the mattress pad. We asked for a different room and were denied. Finally, the front desk came and changed the bedding after asking me to do it. When I asked the owner managers for compensation, they refused and mocked us saying "Those linens weren't soiled, just worn out." They then preceded to tell me to "Tell all of your friends not to stay here, we don't care." I'm hoping that this post saves someone else the horrible misfortune of an incredibly nasty place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandiceBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapipatel, Manager at Apple Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

We are sorry that we were unable to satisfy you during your stay. If a guest is not happy we try to accommodate their needs but unfortunately we were completely booked that night so switching rooms was not possible. We continue to spend considerable resources ensuring our property is kept clean and up to date so it is unfortunate this did not come through during your stay. Our property is AAA rated so I am sorry you found it “FILTY DIRTY”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I've stayed here several times and the owners are very cordial. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. I will always stay at this hotel, and I visit quite frequently since my son attends college 5 minutes from the Apple Tree. I will and have recommended this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyCrable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

An unexpected death in the family, recently took us to Indianola, Iowa. We chose the Apple
Tree Inn for the value and availability of rooms for many family members arriving. The accommodations were dated, but very clean. Kirit, Kapi and their son were so kind - they juggled rooms so we could all be together, they worked around us as we gathered in the lobby to play games and eat pizza, and they exhibited calmness and control one evening as we all sat in an inner hallway during a tornado warning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdavis49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

The exterior was clean and neat. Man at front counter when we checked in wasn't overly friendly, but he was polite. The hotel seemed to be older, and had some cosmetic updates (some of which seemed to be done to cover up something - like the extra wide molding along the tops of the wall). We had difficulty getting in our room -- the key (yes, they still use an actual key - not a keycard) fit in, but we had to pull on the doorknob to get the key to turn. We noticed that there was damage to the bottom of the door, it was warped. An overpowering flowery scent greeted us when we finally entered the room. Thinking it was a cleaning product, we cranked up the air conditioning and left for supper. When we came back, the scent was just as strong. There was a decent continental breakfast, but the lobby is very small - so would have been uncomfortable if there had been any others there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Enjoyed the location just off the main highway. Easy access. The free breakfast was a little sparse.

Stayed: October 2009
1  Thank blackberry24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apple Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Inn

Address: 1215 N Jefferson Way, Indianola, IA 50125-1457
Location: United States > Iowa > Indianola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Indianola
Price Range: $65 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apple Tree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For comfortable accommodation, the Apple Tree Inn is the best value in town. Affordable rates and clean, comfortable rooms are all a part of your stay with us. We are an independent 60 room AAA Diamond rated motel locally owned in Indianola, Iowa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apple Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Inn Indianola, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing