We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here at the last minute, but we very happy with the room. The hotel is extremely clean, we were very impressed with how clean it was. The free breakfast in the morning was pretty good, most free breakfasts are not that good, but this one was pretty good. The staff was friendly and the room was spacious and clean. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We thank you for your review of our Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites. That’s quite a compliment you have paid us!!! How nice it was to read!!

Our management staff ensures all the team members exemplify the best customer service possible. It’s gratifying to know it’s appreciated.

We will look forward to welcoming you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 204 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

Traveling handicap is a burden, the hotel was set up for special needs even with a roll in shower, but the toilets are not truly handicap just because there is a grab bar, they need to be higher! It also needs that little vent to get rid of bathroom odor and dampness after a shower. Other than that just a little nit picking, if you like brick hard firm beds you'll like those, please start mounting TVs on the wall, its a little small and I couldn't figure out how to rent a movie, and I didn't ask. More outlets and lamps to light up a room would be nice, with outlet adapters to plug in more than one thing, it is the tech age. Hotels in general should also consider renting out motorized scooters for the baby boomers and my other suggestion is invest in bed toppers, so if someone calls and ask for pillow top, say yes and zip that baby on. We definitely would have stayed longer if the bed was more comfortable. I booked another hotel 2 weeks prior to our stay, it was filthy, we stopped at BWP Independence without them knowing we were coming and the room was spotless. The staff was so courtesy and breakfast was delicious. Pool and hot tub Awesome. Loved the check out time ! I would stay again just for one night only because the mattress was to hard for my bad back. I don't know when the hotel was built but it could pass for a brand new hotel ! As for trip advisor what sort of trip was it didn't apply leisure, travelers or handicap.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbsolutleyHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. Beautiful rooms with a great view. Breakfast was more than I expected. We would love to come back when we have more time to enjoy the area. Pool and hot tub were great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

We thank you for your review of our Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites. That’s quite a compliment you have paid us!!! How nice it was to read!!

Our management staff ensures all the team members exemplify the best customer service possible. It’s gratifying to know it’s appreciated.

We will look forward to welcoming you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sherri V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for my daughters 9th Birthday! We all had so much fun. Pool and rooms were very nice. We used dining room for supper and cake. Service was great. They were all very nice. Breakfast was also very good. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SARAHJOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Best Western Plus-Independence Inn & Suites! We appreciate when guests let us know how we are doing to be able to maintain or improve our hospitality and service to guests. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay and that you found our service pleasant and accomodating. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had never been to Independence before, but after my stay here on business, I will most definitely return the next time I am in the area! The staff was friendly and accommodating, room well-equipped, and breakfast was delicious. I slept like a rock in the comfortable bedsheets and pillows and enjoyed the in-room wi-fi to get my work done. Only down sides - sheets/blankets are a bit thin, so you'd be wise to bring a heavy blanket if you're often cold like me, and my shower water pressure was a bit light for my taste. Otherwise, great experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was very very upset by this experience!!! I rented the room for my daughter's 13th bday, upon arriving the desk clerk was very rude and told us if we were too loud we would be warned twice, and then fined and asked to leave. We reserved the room and dining area and thought our guests would be able to swim. We were kicked out of the pool and informed only registered guests were allowed to swim. We were also required to have id??? The room was reserved in the credit card holders name but he wasn't staying. The desk clerk insisted that whoever reserved the room must stay?? I am hoping this was a poorly trained employee, because my family comes from WI often and stays and has NEVER had these issues. If this is how u treat guests we will find somewhere else to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJBeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

I apologize if you feel you were treated in a "rude" manner. My staff strives on providing great hospitality and providing great customer service to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.
As for our swimming policy, we can only allow REGISTERED guests in our pool area for insurance and safety policies. We hope you can understand why we have policies and procedures in place to protect our guests.
We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Waterloo
23.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Manchester
20.4 mi away
Super 8 Waterloo
Super 8 Waterloo
#13 of 16 in Waterloo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Motel 6 Waterloo
Motel 6 Waterloo
#12 of 16 in Waterloo
58 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Independence
Super 8 Independence
#2 of 2 in Independence
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites

Address: 2100 Swan Lake Blvd, Independence, IA 50644-2760 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Independence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Independence
Price Range: $89 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Independence Hotel Independence
Best Western Plus Independence Inn And Suites
Country Inn Independence
Independence Country Inn
Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing