We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Independence
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Staff is horrible”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The overall look and comfort of the rooms and hotel were good. Unfortunately the staff was not very accommodating. Kendra was the desk clerk that was very unpleasant and threatening when I was checking in. Apparently there was a noise complaint that she was upset about and quickly warned me that if I made any noise I would be promptly kicked off the property. Not the warm welcome I was expecting. The following morning I then overheard the manager complaining to fellow customers how she "hates her job" there at the best western. Sounds like a bunch of disgruntled hotel employees. This hotel was built right next to a wedding venue, not by accident I'm sure so there is the expected rowdiness of wedding after parties that are not well received by the staff. It is obvious that this hotel survives off the wedding season and in my opinion should welcome everyone with open arms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    46
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
66
31
5
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you like a clean, well staffed hotel in a quiet location, I would recommend this countryside hotel. I like to conduct my business and then leave the city for a restful night of sleep. Remember, it is quiet.....not much entertainment and the selection of restaurants is limited, but the nearby town of Independence offers enough for most travelers.

Incidently, the Alphonse Mucha exhibit in Cedar Rapids is excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in quietest section of the hotel. The staff will know where those rooms are and will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay at Best Western Plus-Independence Inn and Suites! We are glad to have been accomodating, as we strive to cater to all travelers, no matter what the event. We train both our front desk staff and housekeepers to maintain highest standards, and we are happy to hear their hard work was noticed and appreciated. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Not a single thing to complain about! As this was my first experience with a Best Western Plus, I was unsure of what to expect though the reviews for this property were generally positive. We arrived early, but were made welcome immediately and even allowed to check in right away. The staff was all very nice and helpful, and each amenity was exactly as described. The gym, pool, and breakfast facilties were all fantastic, and though there is not a great deal to look at (it's Iowa...) there is a little porch on the front of the building that just adds a little extra space. It was clear that the staff was available to help, though everything was so smooth that that we never needed them to. A great stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanieC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear JanieC19,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay at Best Western Plus-Independence Inn & Suites! We appreciate when guests let us know how we are doing to be able to maintain or improve our hospitality and service to guests. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay and that you found our service pleasant and accomodating. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel when visiting family nearby. The staff was wonderful. The room was large, clean and quiet. They had set up a crib for our 18-month-old daughter. Great access to the interstate and local businesses. A gem on I-80 for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLBSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear LLBSacto,

Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay at Best Western Plus-Independence Inn and Suites! We are glad to have been accomodating, as we strive to cater to all travelers, no matter what the event. We train both our front desk staff and housekeepers to maintain highest standards, and we are happy to hear their hard work was noticed and appreciated. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnville, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I looked at these reviews and was concerned with staying at this hotel. My family had a great experience! The first night we were there the hotel was booked for a wedding and graduation at the high school. With so many poeple, we still felt important. The pool area was nice and I was very impressed with the fitness center! Breakfast was busy that next morning, but the food was hot and a great variety to choose from for my family. We would definately stay here again. No reason to be concerned with staff or extra noise. Close to many places to eat as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Heather V,

We appreciate your responses regarding your recent stay at Best Western Plus-Independence Inn and Suites.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our accomodations were sufficient for your needs. We do everything in our power to make your stay pleasant. Your feedback will be used to maintain our high standards of customer service and hospitality. We look forward to your staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I just returned from this hotel. The staff we very friendly, at night time check in and in morning check out. Rooms were very clean. This is a very new hotel. Pool looked nice but did not swim. Breakfast was decent. I would definitely stay here again. Best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Todd H,

Thank you for your response regarding your recent stay at Best Western Plus-Independence Inn & Suites. Your feedback is important to us.

Our staff is held to high standards of customer service and hospitality, and the housekeeping staff strive to maintain cleanliness throughout the building. We are happy to hear that the staff is continuing this service throughout the day and that you were able to enjoy your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Rooms were big enough to fit our entire family. With four kids it can be quite a challenge. We had a two room suite which allowed more older children to stay up when the younger ones needed to go to bed. The rooms were very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone especially if you're traveling with a large family!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koenigtricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Koenigtricia,

Thank you for your feedback for your stay at Best Western Plus-Independence Inn & Suites! We appreciate your comments and strive to utilize them in strengthening our customer service.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Traveling with a large family can be difficult, but we make every attempt to make accomodations possible for as many people as we can to ease that burdon and make your stay comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Independence
20.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Waterloo Cedar Falls
20.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterloo
Hampton Inn Waterloo
#1 of 15 in Waterloo
425 reviews
16.7 mi away
Days Inn Evansdale Waterloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
19.8 mi away
Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
20.2 mi away
Motel 6 Crossroads Mall-Waterloo-Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites
Address: 2100 Swan Lake Blvd, Independence, IA 50644-2760 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Independence)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Independence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Independence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Independence Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Independence Hotel Independence
Country Inn Independence
Independence Country Inn
Best Western Plus Independence Inn & Suites Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing