We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earl's Regency
Nearby Hotels
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Majestic Tourist Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$16
$14
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$13
$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Town Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kandy Holiday Home(Kandy)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Knuckles View(Tennekumbura)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,280)
Filter reviews
2,280 results
Traveler rating
1,046
757
306
116
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,046
757
306
116
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindian restaurantsri lankaluxury roommain restaurantour honeymoonfive star hotellovely hotelswimming poollarge hotelspecial thanksbuffet stylesmall balconydinner buffetnice poolrestaurant staffstayed here for two nightswelcome drink
Filter
Updating list...
1,884 - 1,889 of 2,280 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed here for just one night as part of our tour, and I suspect many guests do the same. So it has the feel of a transit hotel. Neverthless, it is a pleasant hotel, with an impressive lobby and welcoming and friendly staff throughout..
Our ground floor room was clean and tidy and we slept well.
Food and service in the restaurant was of a good standard.
The bar adjoining the restaurant was almost empty, and the lounge area had limited seating.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

dear potential visitor, this place was a nice place to stay. it was in a great location, beautiful surroundings and nice amenities. the food was ok, the rooms were nice and as always the more you pay for a room the nicer the room you receive. its a nice place to stay for a few days and relax. i do want to mention though that i think sri lanka as a whole gets a lot of money from the tourist industry and they take advantage of travelers. this place didn't do anything directly to us but our tour guide said this hotel was full and wanted to change our itinerary for 2 nights from staying here to a 1-star place. So, we weren't going to stay in a crappy hotel when we paid for a nicer one so we called the hotel directly and found they had several rooms. We made them talk to each other (hotel and tour guide) and they said ok we can go to this hotel as planned and when we got there they changed their story from 'we have several rooms' to 'oh no ma'am you're lucky, someone just cancelled and now we have a room available, just now.' so we still got the room but we had to fight and argue and just be careful in sri lanka and everywhere you travel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racerbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

There is not much to recommend about the Earl’s Regency. No matter what your travel agent or tour operator says, it is at best a 3-star hotel that caters to large tour groups. It is located 3kms east of Kandy, so it is not at all convenient to the temple and town. The fact that it is halfway up a hill, above a very busy road, means that you hear the almost constant horns that are part of Sri Lankan driving. In addition, our room was dirty and we did not have any hot water for the two nights we stayed. While we called several times, none of the staff seemed bothered. They just take the view that most guests will never return and they are guaranteed business, since they have the local tour operators ‘locked-in’.

Most of the staff are more interested in constantly having their hands out, expecting a tip, than trying to help. The main restaurant serves a basic over-priced ‘tourist buffet’, that makes school cafeteria food look good. Even the breakfast buffet leaves a lot to be desired, since when busy, not much is replenished. So if there are a few large groups, like there was when we were there, you just have to wait and wait, if you want something.

There are a number of much nicer hotels and smaller guest houses closer to Kandy. If we had been able to switch after the first night, we would have. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Had difficulty in finding a good hotel in Kandy. We were very happy with the Earls Regency and found the accommodation, food and reception to be very good. The position was very good also for touring Kandy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workman2195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

We were a group of women traveling through Sri Lanka. My roommate and I were offered services "massages, wink, wink" by the room service staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews