We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent peaceful getaway”
Review of Awanmulan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kampung Jelebu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Awanmulan
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Off the beaten path in Seremban, this is a great 2-3 day getaway from the hustle of city living.

Situated smack bang in the middle of virgin jungle atop a mountain, the design of the chalets has been done in such a way to make one feel as if it is their own weekend retreat - very homely, and has managed to avoid any commercial feeling about the place.

Two nice swimming pools as well as some organised jungle trekking gives you a few activities to do, outside of which, be sure take some good books and relax in complete peace and quiet on the ample spaced balconies they provide over looking the jungle. Lovely place to read or doze off in the hammock.

With no restaurant at the hotel (which is a positive in my view), guests are encouraged to take their own food - everything utensil wise is provided as well as fridge, grill, rice cooker, Microwaves and plenty of BBQ's scattered around the place with charcoal. Salt, pepper, serviettes also included - its very self contained and convenient. A local breakfast is provided.

Be warned - it's a jungle - there are lots of mosquitoes - take plenty of sprays/lotions to avoid getting bitten.

The husband and wife team were very welcoming towards us as well as helpful throughout our stay. A very pleasant team who made for a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLOysterMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 65 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

This place is nested amidst one of the oldest rainforest that connects all the way through Taman Negara in Pahang. The rooms are smack open to the nature and it is a really unique and wonderful experience. The views from the room and pool area is spectacular, perfect for a relaxing or romantic getaway from the city.

They have 2 pools with natural salt which is brings no harm to our skin, hair or eyes. We can literally soak in the pool for hours and hours. The room is equipped with FULL cooking facilities (pots, pans, rice cooker, steamboat pot, grill, everything!), FULL barbeque kit is available too.

Take note that the house rules are really strict so please let the owners know exactly how many people are staying (no last minute add-ons cause you will be turned away).

Before leaving for a swim (especially in the evening), make sure you off the lights and put down the wooden blinds or you shall be in pain the whole night. We did not do that, when we came back after our barbeque (about 8+), our room, bed and floor was full with insects! We had to clean them up that took us about an hour +

I would return again with other friends but will take better precaution to avoid sleeping with beetles and bugs.

Room Tip: Most of the bigger rooms are fully open (no windows, glass doors, etc). Choose the smaller room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Awanmulan was the perfect getaway location to relax and unwind. My friend and I stayed two nights at the Sasterawan Chalet. The chalet was very comfortable and I especially appreciated the thought put into making guests feel comfortable such as the providence of towels, individual blankets, amenities to cook, a big jug of reverse osmosis water, pool towels and sarong, and more. Right from the start, we were warmly welcomed by the owners who made sure we were well taken care of.

The view from the top is absolutely breathtaking. You can take in the beauty of sunrise or sunset, dip in a pool or both pools, lounge on the hammocks provided, or if you are adventurous, head to the river where there are waterfalls. This is a place where you can truly relax and enjoy the company of the people you are there with without the distractions of technology or the bustling of a city.

With regards to food, breakfast was provided and it was delicious. You will have to cook lunch and dinner on your own but everything is provided in the kitchen for you to do so. Do bring your own snacks and drinks as well.

Overall, this place is awesome for a nice getaway and I will definitely be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jessicalcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

There are gorgeous views, glorious sunsets and fresh clean air to be enjoyed at Awanmulan and it's undeniably extremely romantic to be so removed from everything commercialized in such a beautiful setting with your loved one but it can get a little boring after a day of doing absolutely nothing but lazing around. Be prepared to share your space with lots of little critters and bring your own forms of entertainment if you are easily bored. You are not going to be able to buy snacks easily anywhere around Awanmulan as well so do bring your own snacks, drinks and food.

Room Tip: Ask for the red cottage if you are travelling as a couple. It's well worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bittenbytheTbugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

If you working in a busy city and you wanna have a break, this will be a place for you to stay for few nights. Don't worry about your phone connection up there, signal is not weak there. Love the place, friendly people.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Maxim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This place was indeed incredible with magnificent view but unfortunately the customer service provided was rather a disappointment. They have few strict house rules which were pretty okay to follow but I guess the lady boss took an extreme approach whenever these house rules were broken unintentionally during my stay.
Last weekend I went for a night stay and booked the Kesidang Room which was able to accommodate up to 6 adults. However, I only mentioned 5 adults (which was the initial plan) but unexpectedly my friend’s hubby decided to come along. During my arrival, before I can even check in and this was after a long drive with a minimal landmark on a super simple map given by them – the lady boss came barging out and started to shout saying I have more adults than the original booking. Instead of addressing the issue in a professional manner, she just threatens to impose additional charges to us which I think was reasonable but it can be managed in a more polite discussion.
Anyway this will be my last visit to Awanmulan, with such beautiful architecture & view – it’s an unfortunate experience with such unwelcome approach by the lady boss. She did charge me additional RM120 at the end.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
55  Thank laCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a fine place to relax and do nothing. Several well designed chalets amidst a tropical forest.
Contrary to some people's perception, Awanmulan is not really high up in the hills. It is only about 220m above sea level but being far away from the city, it does have cool clean air and breathtaking views.

Every chalet is unique and purpose built with interesting design. A lot of wood is used and the owners actually recycled wood from old telegraph poles. A mixture of Malay-Balinese-Oriental type of design.

Firstly, you may get a little frustrated with the booking and payment avenues. This place is not a commercial hotel but more like a resort home for a couple and they decided to share this with other people for a fee. They do not accept credit cards and you have to electronically transfer to their account. It is more of a hassle if you are booking from overseas.

However, once you get there (getting there may be a challenge but they will give you directions) you will be greeted warmly by this friendly couple who will be more than happy to show you around.

If you are expecting 5 star hotel facilities, you will be disappointed. No room service, no gym or spa. You come to this place to be alone and to relax in peace. Great for couples.

You need to plan your own dinner. They can arrange a mini BBQ set for you but you need to bring the food yourself. Alternatively they can do a "steamboat" or hotpot or a kind of fondue set up for you but again you need to bring the food yourself.

The 2 pools in this facility is excellent. One provide a sunset view.

There is little else to do except to cook your own dinner and enjoy nature!

I like this place. Not because it provide the best service. Not because it has great facilities. But simply because it is lovely and peaceful.

Room Tip: Each room has its unique features. Best is to contact them. They will be more than happy to advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MikeCMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampung Jelebu
7.8 mi away
Carlton Star Hotel
Carlton Star Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seremban
33 reviews
23.2 mi away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,234 reviews
7.3 mi away
Klana Resort Seremban
Klana Resort Seremban
#11 of 14 in Seremban
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Shorea
The Shorea
#1 of 15 in Seremban
134 reviews
18.5 mi away
Semenyih Eco Venture Resort & Recreation
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awanmulan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awanmulan

Address: Mukim Pantai, Jalan Jelebu, Jelebu, Kampung Jelebu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Kampung Jelebu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kampung Jelebu
Price Range: $190 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing