We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Its late Saturday afternoon"”
Review of The Woodmans Arms

The Woodmans Arms
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Central European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: If you are looking for individual pubs with great character, fantastic beer, delicious food and excellent service - look no further than The Empire Pub Company. Our pubs are the perfect place to enjoy a broad and interesting range of fantastic cask-conditioned and craft beers. We offer an interesting range of bottled beers, craft ales and lagers from around the UK and across the world. Whether you are looking for excellent lunches and dinners, or lighter dishes and sharing plates, we have tempting menus of delicious dishes freshly prepared at every pub by our talented chefs and their teams, using only the freshest ingredients, locally sourced whoever possible. We are able to cater for private parties and events which we would be more than happy to give you details for. No great pub experience is complete without great people - and we pride ourselves in offering truly excellent service in all of our pubs. We have well motivated and experienced managers running our pubs working alongside a great team of house, and kitchen staff. We are a great place to work and we are always looking for good talented staff to work in our team. Empire Pubs are focused on providing high-quality service and customer satisfaction - we will do everything we can to meet your expectations. Look around our website and if you have any comments or questions, please feel free to contact us. We hope to see you again very soon
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Its late Saturday afternoon"”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Its late Saturday afternoon and you're ringing round trying to book a table for six the same night. Luckily the third place you try is successful. So we turn up not knowing what to expect. Pleasantly surprised to find good service, good food and competitively priced. A good old lively Essex pub with an adequate menu and well presented plates as good if not better than most.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    45
    36
    15
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Food not bad but this place is overpriced and not good value for money. Best for couples as it is not a large place.

Helpful?
Thank Jacksterlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Backwards step”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having written a glowing review last year, I'm afraid things have taken a turn for the worse!
The last 4 visits have been very disappointing and they have now lost us as customers.
The issues, since a change of management are:
1. Restricted wine list - they have been telling us it's under review for 5 months now
2. Service not as friendly - Jack is a star though!
3. Food inconsistent - rump steaks can be very chewy
4. Prices have just gone up - a simple standard meal is on average now £18 before drinks, starter or desert. Allow £50 for 2 for what is now just good pub grub.


Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good All Round”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have visited the Woodmans Arms on a handful of occasions for just a drink, I tend to go more for lunch/ dinner. It provides a lovely pub lunch but with a little bit extra.

The decor and atmosphere make you feel that you are somewhere better than 'just a pub', yet it is not too pricy. You get good value for money, the portions are quite large too! (especially the fish and chips).

Would recommend for a romantic lunch or a catch up with friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_24Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Decent pub food at good London Restaurant prices.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Dined here on a Friday night just before Christmas with my husband and had high hopes for this place having seen the menu online beforehand and reading the reviews.

To say we were disappointed is an understatement. It was a busy Friday night and the pub section of the Woodman's was packed and there was a singer in the corner crooning out a load of cover songs. It was far too loud for a pub, let alone for a pub with a dining area which acted as a restaurant. When we were seated, we actually asked to be moved somewhere quieter as we couldn't hear ourselves think, but it was still too loud.

The food itself was nice but for the price, we were incredibly disappointed - it was basically good wholesome pub food and restaurant prices. We left with our wallets feeling a lot lighter and to be honest, I'm not sure we would dine there again, definitely not on a night when there's 'entertainment'!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat_Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodmans Arms also viewed

 
Battlesbridge, Essex
 

Been to The Woodmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing