We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ended up being GREAT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ended up being GREAT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

After reading many negative reviews on trip advisor about the crime on the island, I was VERY hesitant to bring my family to St Martin. I originally had reservations at the Divi and read bad reviews there as well so cancelled those reservations and made reservations at the Royal Palm. I was going to use timeshare points at the Divi and decided to pay cash for the Royal Palm due to the great price they offered. The rooms were VERY spacious and homey. The appliances and kitchen was fully functional and the refridgerator made tons of ice and mostly everything was clean. The view was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurants across the street were awesome. Having a store on-site was great too and the grocery store near by, although costly, was good too. We did rent a car and had no issues with crime. We made sure we kept nothing in it. This allowed us to drive to numerous beaches and each one had something different to offer.

The only downside was housekeeping every 4 days and we were there 9 days and ended up only having housekeeping 1x which definitely was not often enough. Also, if the Royal Palm would spend a little extra time spakeling, doing some touch up painting, and scrubbing the hall floors with soap and water, it would make sure a difference.

Overall, I would absolutely stay here again and I would LOVE to come back to St Marten in the near future. Took Sousaglia Tours with Capt Bob and his son Brett too - best day EVER. Snorkeled with Sea Turtles, sting rays, star fish and beautiful fish. Also, a catamaran trip to Prickley Pear is a must. I've never seen a beach so beautiful.

Room Tip: With the mosquito bourne illness going around, a higher level floor is recommended and lots of bug s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    341
    85
    32
    27
See reviews for
296
266
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This hotel was amazing. Close to the Airport. Greeted immediately by the great staff. Special thanks to Nickerson at front desk he was always very helpful and tried his best to get us late checkout on the day of departure. The room was amazing and traveling with 2 young children age 2 and 6 it's very helpful to have the feel of being at home.with 2 large bedrooms..full kitchen stove, fridge , microwave, appliances, plates, utensils. Amazing view of pool and beach. Supermarket close by and liquor store. We filled up fridge on first day with breakfast foods and snacks. Little pricey but you are away and expect it. Very clean room, Sasha our housekeeper was amazing. Only downside is the room gets cleaned every 4 days of your visit. Tons of restaurants to choose from all outside of your hotel. . Overall I would come back and recommend this hotel. Great time

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed at Royal beach palm last week. The resort was in the perfect location and walking distance from everything. I strongly advise guests to rent a car even if only for one day. The food at the hotel was wonderful. Also, all of the nearby establishments were also excellent. Book your tours directly, not through the ppl in the hotel lobby. They make a commission and that adds to the price. Also, stay away from "Fun time tours". They falsely advertise tours and add hidden fees. And one of their speed boats to Anguilla was leaking power steering. All in all i would go back to the Royal Palm and bring my family.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, it is a bit on the smaller side but I preferred that! It is pretty close to the airport so the drive over wasn't bad. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with water, juice, and snacks. Our room wasn't ready yet, so they offered to store our luggage while we hit the pool! The pool was medium sized with a swim up bar which was awesome! There is also a restaurant on-site as well, we only had lunch there once and it was pretty good. The hotel is conveniently located in Cole Bay, so we were able to have a small beach right outside. It was beautiful and there were many beach chairs as well as cabanas. The room was stunning, and the great thing is that every room has a view of the beach which was a pretty great thing to wake up to! There is a mini grocery store downstairs right on the resort, but it can be pricey so I'd recommend walking a couple blocks down the street where there is a bigger grocery store which was more reasonably priced.
The staff was attentive and super friendly! We especially LOVED Gardenia who works at the excursions and activities desk! She was wonderful and help us book an AMAZING excursion through Blue Safaris! She is very friendly and helpful, she arranges taxis and activities around the island so if you are looking to go on excursions on your trip Gardenia is definitely the person you want to talk to!

Overall we had an amazing trip! There were so many restaurants that were so close to the hotel- we never had an issue finding a new place to eat! Thanks again to the wonderful staff for helping make our trip so special!

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, try to get a room that is located on the far left of the hotel. Rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Royal Palm is close to the airport but far enough that you will not hear the planes. Our room was very clean even under the dust ruffle haha. We had a 2 bedroom with 2 bathrooms and a balcony with relaxing view. A quick change & we were down in the swim up pool enjoying 2 for 1 happy hour. The food was very good there but if you want to mix it up there are several locations in walking distance with different events going on. I can't say enough about the staff everyone was pleasant & helpful. A real joy.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better overall view but it doesn't seem like any room has a bad view al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weesp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We requested a ground level apartment in advance for our 1 year old. We had apartment 8112. This was a clean and well equipped room. Easy access to beach and pool as we requested.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. The pool and beaches were thoroughly checked every day and cleaned. We loved this placed as it was perfect for our family. We will definitely visit here again!

Only downside was " DRIven to fun" week when we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Anne_mijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were on the third floor which worked because we like the steps. Perfect location to strip of restaurants across the street, Captain D's bbq shack and the grocery store.

Master bed is very comfy includes safe
Housekeeping only comes every 4 days after check-in
Towels provided are great for beach and you can get new ones daily in the lobby
Located in a cove so you can watch the ferry to St. barths
beach umbrellas fill up by 10 so be sure to have an early riser go down and find a spot
They charge $.25 for ketchup at the pool bar even when you order from them
Happy hour gets a little lively so we stuck to the beach
beach is rocky at some points BEWARE
Do not keep food on kitchen counters because small white bugs are everywhere
Pullout couch needs to be replaced- my son struggled to no fall through the bars at the end of the bed
Wifi is spotty and they don’t seem to care at the front desk
Great local gym for free attached to the hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Property: Royal Palm Beach Resort
Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, West Indies, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing