We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Perfect location on island. Lots of good restaurants are waking distance and things to do (water sports, other island trips) are on the bay in front of you.

This is our second time our family stayed here (we were here in 2012). The staff was VERY friendly and helpful). They resolved the water pressure issues for 2012 and they have free internet in the rooms now (albeit a bit spotty).

Rooms were huge and had a nice full kitchen. We had one room for us and one for the kids.

The happy hour at the pool is fun but the mixed drinks were terrible. Worst pina coloda I ever had and for some reason the bar staff is not as friendly as the hotel staff.

The hotel had lots of activities that were fun especially for the kids. The pool is a bit undersized for the resort and I wish they would outlaw "Marco; Polo" for kids HA.

Love the views from the of the bay and there are nice views of the mountains in front of the units. It like's 2 views in one.

Really nice gym next door which you have free access with the hotel. Not like a typical hotel gym.

The beach is really nice in the bay but no comparison to a beach like Mullett Bay in terms of water clarity and soft sand in the water. However, suggest a buying a cheap raft and water shoes ( a bit rocky in spots) for the resort. The huts on the beach are perfect.

Rent a car for the week and explore the island.

Overall, great value.

Room Tip: high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trueotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    362
    88
    34
    31
See reviews for
327
286
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Rooms were great, staff very helpful, kitchen were east to work in for 2 people. Otherwise smallBus stop close by. Great beach and great pool. Truly friendly. Wifi was iffy. Sometimes worked. Sometimes didn't. On site laundry Would love to go back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marciel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here through our timeshare exchange. Asked for a 4th or 5th floor unit per other Tripadvisor reviews, and were welcomed with a fifth floor end unit! Spectacular view! Staff was helpful and friendly as well. Definitely recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jcrios89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Beside the fact that the Royal Palm is comfortable and attractive, it is also near a LOT of restaurants and things to do. We found the staff to be tremendously helpful, even able to recommend the best places to eat. There are literally dozens of restaurants within walking distance to the resort, and the resort has a great restaurant too! You will be very comfortable and happy with the accommodations! We really like the pool bar also!!!

We have been traveling to St. Maarten for 6 years, and have found the Royal Palm to be the best place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of Simpson Bay, so it is easy to get a good room. If you want a little qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We booked our stay in a 2 bedroom unit using Diamond points. The room was clean and roomy and we had a great view (I uploaded photos). The room included a full kitchen but no washer/dryer. We got tokens (free of charge) from the front desk to use in a laundry room on our floor. We were on the ground floor and could exit our room right to the beach. The pool/restaurant/bar are in the center of the resort building and it was a noisy area. The beach is divided by large rocks into two areas, one large and one small. The sand was nice to walk on barefoot but there were some rocks in the water and pebbles in the surf. We dined at the restaurant once, service was SLOW, SLOW, SLOW and the food was average. The resort has a small grocery store but there are plenty of places to eat and a bigger grocery store nearby. The staff were always very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have a good view. The middle of the resort has the pool/bar/restaurant, so it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our first visit to st marten and it was great. The resort is not far from the airport (5min)by car. Lovely location. very clean. personnel were vere helpfull and nice plus always smiling and willing to give yousuggestions on were to go and what to see...and oh boy is there stuff to see. Lots of full at the happy hour by the pool. Breakfast by the beach is good. A special tnaks you to Stephanie at the front desk that was there for us all week .merci ...our 2 bedroom was amazing. we were on the 4th floor on the left side front beach.. wow what a view. every morning we would see cruise ships come in the harbor on there wau to the port..All and all I really recommand this resort.. Bravo

Room Tip: ask for the 4th of 5th floor away from the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I don't think reviewers brag enough about this hotel/timeshare - it has a lot going for it.

LOCATION -- PLUS! It's not far from Princess Juliana airport but you won't hear planes. A taxi will cost ~$5-6 per person plus a buck per suitcase.

ROOM -- PLUS! Since it's a timeshare, the rooms are apartments. Our 2 bedroom with full kitchen (dishwasher, full stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, refrigerator, and dishes/pots/cups/cutlery) was more than sufficient for us. The resort even provides a starter kit with dishwashing soap, paper towels and salt/pepper. Note, there's no daily room service - it's every 4th day (or so).

ACTIVITIES -- PLUS! At times it felt like we were on a cruise. The resort has a weekly itinerary with yoga, games, etc. Nice if you choose to stay around the hotel all week. Best of all - it's included with your room fee.

OPTIONS -- PLUS! There's a Hertz car rental, excursion desk, restaurant, bar, jewelry store, market, gift shop, DVD rental shop, and free laundry mat (guests only) on site. Note, the gym is a “con” as it's shared by guests and locals making it a bit crowded.

Tips for an enjoyable stay:
-Rent a car. It's cheaper and easier to get around. Note: Gas stations only take cash (no credit).
-Pick up flyers around town. You'll find coupons for restaurants.
-Go to the market down the street (1/8 mile - upon exiting the parking lot, go right). You'll find a better selection and prices than the hotel store.
-Get flyers from the excursion desk for day trips - more offered than what you'll find online.

Cons:
-Internet is slow. (After a while you'll forget about work emails.)
-Elevators are small. (No biggie unless a burly man gets in.)
-Nearby night clubs/beach bars can go 'til 2am on select nights so be aware if your room is on the left side of the building (when facing hotel from parking lot).
-Beware of the timeshare con ALL AROUND (everyone on the island seems to be employed by them). Just tell them you’re leaving soon and don’t have time for the pitch.

Overall, Royal Palm was a joy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gigi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,783 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
742 reviews
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Property: Royal Palm Beach Resort
Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing