We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our First Trip to the Caribbean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our First Trip to the Caribbean”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Overall a good choice. Pool water was warm, clean. Beach is really, really nice-had a massage on the beach. Some low key vendors there, too. Chairs and umbrellas set up. Quiet, private. No area to really snorkel there. The sister hotel, The Flamingo, has a different (we thought) nicer beach/pool area that can be accessed via shuttle. Our room was clean, had a safe, seemed secure, and the view everything one could hope for. Waters of the Caribbean glistening, gentle waves, etc. Food on grounds is very good, but slow (like all the places there). Good food all around the hotel. Beware the service charge at the hotel restaurant . Many Dutch (and French) restaurants include the gratuity, then lie about it, hoping to get more than 15%. We were told by the waitress at the hotel that this charge was not for her but for the cooking staff! Beware and check your tab. Hotel staff was on hand and nice. Cooking facilities are superb. Elevators were both working most days. Security presence well noted. Recommend renting a car from the Hertz rental on property. Read some horror stories about rental cars from Thrifty/Dollar. Took cab from airport-driver overcharged us. A great vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rocde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    367
    89
    34
    31
See reviews for
330
289
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Ont
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We came here with our daughter - room immaculate (again)- the front desk is fantastic - this time Vinnie stood out as he assisted with our dinner reservations with speed and got us a great restaurant

This is my first second and third choice when staying here

The "bar" is not too good - plan on going out

Room Tip: all the rooms are great - ocean view as well as lagoon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingman056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finleyville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were booked at the Flamingo Beach Resort at Simpson Bay for the week of Jan.18-25, 2014, booking through Tonya Williams, at dreamtravelinc@yahoo.com, who was booking Terry Laughren's timeshare week for him. We arrived early afternoon only to be told by the Flamingo there was no reservation in our name! At 10 PM, we were still trying to get our room, and Tonya Williams was excellent in her customer service, responding repeatedly with Flamingo and Terry Laughren about this confusion. Turns out, Terry Laughren reserved the wrong week for us! Worse, he blamed Tonya for this and told her it was her problem not his! She was able to get us into the Royal Palm Beach Resort the next day and we were greeted with kindness and understanding from Jesse James, front desk, who made our vacation that started out as a day from hell to a week of heaven! The resort has a nice beach with only a small section to the far right that has an area of rocks when entering, but the rest of the beach is sandy and calm. Every room has an enormous view of the Simpson Bay and you can enjoy the viewing of yachts and sailboats. The rooms are more spacious and up to date than at the Flamingo and evrything was in working order. I can't say the same about the Flamingo. The room we had for one night at the Flamingo, at a cost to us, which Tonya reimbursed me, had doors off the track on both the closet doors and patio doors. The room was filthy with dust on the beat up furniture and dirty unswept floors! The Royal Palm had clean rooms with friendly staff that always asked how your day was and if there was anyhting they could do for you. There is a grocery store and a liquor store within walking distance, about a 5 minute walk. The bus stops right outside the gate and it was also easy to get a taxi. We had a lot of great restaurants within walking distance and Lee's Roadside Bar and Grill is directly across the street and down the road is Jimbo's a great Mexican Restaurant. To the right of the Royal Palm there is a stand where the guy grills chicken and ribs that are delisciously juicy and reasonably priced! The swim up bar has a daily Happy Hour from 4-6 and the bar on the 2nd level has Happy Hour from 5-7. There were plenty of beach chairs and although you are not to reserve palapas. I did witness guests doing this every AM! We now prefer staying at the Royal Palm Beach Resort and will continue to do so after staying at the Flamingo for the past 3 years! Our gratitude to Tonya who made our vacation end on a happy note! Her dedication is appreciated and especially dealing with this problem brought on by her client's negligence and she just gave birth to her 4th child and provided her assistance to reslove this nightmare!

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end of the resort can hear the music late into the night from the one beach nightcl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Channell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Pump, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Second year coming here. The staff is lovely, location is amazing (very convenient). The rooms are situated so that all have a Simpson Bay view out the huge all glass front windows and a view of the mega Yachts out your back door. Big thumbs up to the front desk staff, so sweet and attentive. Housekeeping ladies were so sweet and did a great job!
Beds are very comfortable, rooms are large and well laid out. Kitchen is quite reasonable with most everything you will need. Did have to buy a larger cutting board ($3 for large flexible one at the Ace Hardware mega-store nearby).

Only difficulty was a night when the restaurant behind the Royal Palm decided to play very loud music very late at night. Front desk staff called the Police to complain, and told me the next morning that I was not the only one to complain and that the band was being ridiculous.

All in all I was very sorry to leave and can't wait to go back. Oh and the laundry facilities are free. They could use upgrading but hey it works.

Room Tip: If you can get on the side closer to the Bridge you can see the big boat going in and out several ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraCanCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this resort in December and enjoyed it immensely. We booked a 2 bedroom condo which had way too much space for only two people. The full kitchen has every appliance and utensil imaginable. We prepared meals comfortably as if we were at home. The grounds are beautiful. Our room was on the ground floor and so we could walk right out to the beach and pool.

The location of the resort is perfect as everything is within walking distance. Restaurants, ATM, supermarkets...all close by. The staff was very kind, friendly and efficient. We had a couple issues at checkin with our a/c and refrigerator and they were on it right away and followed up with phone calls to make sure we were satisfied. Many thanks to Toneisha at the front desk for taking me around the property and helping me select the room before my other half arrived. Dwayne who checked us in was extremely polite and very thorough in providing us with information about the resort.

I will definitely return to this resort in the future. The ocean views are amazing!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Flew Sunwing direct from Toronto Jan 19 and returned Jan 26. Decent flight that took just over 4 hours. Loved the 7 minute, $5/person taxi ride from the SXM airport to our beautiful home for a week.

This was our first time renting a "timeshare condo" rather than an all-inclusive week stay. Not sure what we prefer at this time but everything was almost perfect. Check in was fast and simple. Lobby was quite small and with a few people trying to check in and some people coming in and out of the pool area, it got a little crowded. Front desk staff of Saushana and Jesse were very friendly and helpful answering any questions we had about the resort and the island. Our room was located on the second floor of the "west" wing with a beautiful view of Cole Bay and a decent view of the marina and lift bridge to watch the super yachts come and go each day.

Our 2 br ocean front condo was spotless with a full kitchen of new appliances. Both bedrooms were clean with comfy king beds and en suites with showers only. Flat screen tvs in both bedrooms with another in the living area. Along with a dining table and chairs for 4. We also enjoyed morning coffee and evening drinks while sitting on our balcony overlooking the bay.

The onsite Cabana restaurant was very handy. We only had breakfast and lunch there once and thought our food was good, albeit a little pricey for what we got. The pool/swim up bar was nice and perfect to enjoy some afternoon french fries or a cold "happy hour" drink or 2. The staff in the Cabana and pool bar were very friendly but took their time pouring drinks.There's also an open air bar at the top of the stairs on the second floor. Not sure if many people knew about it as the few times we went we were the only people in the place. Views of the marina and main strip were nice from here and Gloria (I believe that was her name) was pleasant to visit with.

We spent most of our days lounging on the beach enjoying the turquoise water, walking back and forth on the clean but small beach and watching the boats in the bay. We found a small "bbq chicken shack" in the parking lot next to the resort. I think it was the $1.00 Heineken sign that lured us to it! We could also smell it cooking all day long!! For $4 US you got 1/4 chicken and a beer. Add $1.00 for Jerk. Don't let the look of this little "shack" fool you. We ate it almost every lunch!

There is no spa at this resort, but there are ladies on the beach that will provide you with a wonderful massage for a nominal fee... $30 US for 40 mins. Imagine not even having to move from your lounge chair and enjoying a fresh natural aloe massage while listening to the waves on the shore! And don't be afraid to join in on the morning aqua aerobics class with Tony... he will certainly wake you up!

We rented a car for 2 days during our stay to tour the island. Plenty of car rental co close by. We paid $50 US per day and had a free shuttle to pick up and drop off the vehicle. We highly recommend touring the island and taking in some of the villages and beaches on both the Dutch and French sides.

The location of the Royal Palm beach resort was perfect for us. We walked every morning to grab coffees and fresh baked goodies. There are many restaurants and bars across the street and also within walking distance. There was a liquor store and grocery store just a few minutes walk from the resort towards the Burger King.

Some of the restaurants we enjoyed were Lee's Grill House, The Boathouse, Pineapple Pete's, The Green House, Topper's and Izi for Italian. Oh and we can't forget the great BBQ we had at Jimbo's. All places were reasonably priced and the food was fantastic.

Overall we had a fabulous week for our first visit to St Maarten. The only thing we can complain about is that it was too short. We will definitely return to the Royal Palm Beach!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kellyndave13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent 10 days at the Royal Palm Beach Resort in mid January 2014. This was our 9th year there. They have made many improvements over the past few years from New TVs to free Wifi in the rooms and free laundry.The Staff at the resort are very accommodating. The beach is clean and the lounges are free for guests. The resort is very close to the Airport and supermarkets and shops and restaurants. The is so much to do within walking distance of the resort. Looking forward to spending next years january vacation there once again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dnasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,800 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Property: Royal Palm Beach Resort
Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing