We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice place, Great stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is our 3rd time to St Maarten. We love it. Let me start by saying this place is very nice but i am going to compare it to the resort we usually stay at, 5 minutes away on Simpson Bay. The staff is top notch. Check-in, check-out, and all other services are excellent. The views are are great. We had an oceanview and a view of the canal/bridge to watch the boats too. So here are my gripes. The beach bar on Kim Sha beach can ruin peaceful nights on the balcony. There is also a bit of noise from the main road and police sirens. The beach sand is a bit coarse but there is plenty of room. The beach chairs are good for lounging but uncomfortable for reading. Not to bad for gripes right, unless you are looking for that quite time to read a book/newspaper or people watch or stare out to the ocean and daydream forgetting where you came from.

The location is great for getting to a bunch of restaurants and clubs. The grocery store by Burger King seemed better than Grand Marche for prices and selection, and was closer. And the fish market across the strret is great for fresh fish.

Some things we did different this time.
1. did not rent a car, we taxied to the resort for $12. the rest of the time we used the local bus i.e. from resort to Philipsburg is $3 round trip. If you don't need to be in a car everyday - using the bus or finding an inexpensive excursion, ie $12 water taxi to Marigot, is the way to go.
2. packed frozen and dried foods to offset the costs of the restaurants and supermarket prices.

I would recommend this place to anybody. Hope this help some of you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TRAVELTNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    362
    88
    34
    31
See reviews for
327
286
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland,USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon. Seamless check-in, staff was very courteous and helpful. I will say the self entitled "Friendly Island" only applies to Resort staff. The first thing I noticed in our room was a tiny almost invisible bug over the counter and dishes. Suggested hand washing (Like normal) prior to use. I also highly recommend requesting a top floor on the canal side. The top floor because when chairs are moved above you it echo's throughout the apartment, the canal side because at night live music is played until late and sometimes people get out on the beach late at night and the noise travels loudly. I also suggest getting a rental make it a mid-size (Corolla or the like) as parking spaces are tiny and travel around the island can get tight so no need for a big vehicle. The beach at the resort was perfect, waves were not rough and plenty of space for kids to play and have fun. The pool was nice, not enough swim area for kids though. The shallow end was near the swim up bar so people got splashed...sorry. Lots of restaurants pineapple petes was tasty, the place at the resort was also very good. Super markets we went to La Grande Marche near the hotel, was a bit pricey but had everything we needed. All and all the resort was nice and stay was way better being in the snow. Oh Do not rent video's from the grumpy lady at the DVD rental place!!! She was miserable! Bring your own if you need them.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sobertravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My first real vacation in years and it was just unforgettable!! Thank you to ALL the wonderful staff from the front desk, reception and restaurant staff by the pool! Friends and I stayed last month for a fun filled week at St Martin and we all had a blast! The evening reception by the pool , karaoke, bingo and evening festivities were delightful! We truly got a feel for the island and the interior shopping district. Everyone we encountered was helpful, friendly and courteous. We really enjoyed it and highly recommend the well maintained and beautiful Royal Palm Beach Resort in St Martin. Thank you Staff and Happy Thanksgiving! :)

Room Tip: Beautiful ocean view rooms. Very spacious and the balcony facing the bay was lovely. The housekeeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodsy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here in 2012, 2013, and will be returning February 2nd, 2014. The first year we arrived on the island having no idea what we going to go or even how to get to the hotel. After getting a taxi to the hotel we were immediately greeted by staff. Our room was not ready at the time of our arrival, but they held our bags for us and recommended a place for us to rent a car within walking distance. The staff was more then helpful in guiding us to fun things to do on the island. The front desk would make reservations for anything we asked for.

The second year several of the staff members remembered us and welcomed us back on arrival. To me that was very impressive. The rooms have always been very clean and we have never had any complaints.

I would recommend this hotel for people who want to explore the island and not just stay at the resort 24/7. They have staff during the day waiting to help you plan out any excursions. While they do have a great beach and pool it is not the best on the island, but it is better then most hotels beaches on the island. The beach is usually never crowded (and we are there peak season) and is very calm. We've notice that families with small children seem to love this beach and the pool. The pool is not usually crowded either. We have had a few times where there are not clean beach towels but the staff is always very apologetic and rush off to find some.

The location is absolutely the best if you want to drive around and explore the island during the day. We found the island to be incredibly safe and have driven into some of the "worst" parts with out incident. We have always returned to the resort before dark, parked our jeep, and walked to lots of great restaurants and bars in the area. There is also usually a fire on the beach with in a short walking distance.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a great 7 night stay. This location is perfect for walking to very good places to eat. We rented a jeep for the week but it was nice not to have to drive in the traffic each afternoon. The staff is very helpful. If you need something they will take care of it. Franchesca works at the bar in the afternoon & night, she is wonderful. All of them were nice but we quickly made friends with her the first afternoon and she knew us from that moment on. There were two issues that need to be addressed. The first & most important was that they have two elevators but only one of them was in operation. It was very small & no air. We were on the 5th floor (loved our view) but always had issues with waiting to get up or down. The second was the laundry facility; the change machine & detergent despensers were out of order. It is a busy resort and it would make a big difference if these two issues were addressed. We had a two bedroom, two bath condo and a gorgeous view. Overall our stay was great and I would definitely recommend it. Room #8508

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We came to St. Maarten for a birthday trip. The front desk folks found out about the birthday and delivered a fabulous fruit, wine, cheese and chocolate basket to our unit. The staff was very friendly and informative. It is close to the airport and within walking distance to many fine restaurants. We had two large bedrooms, each with extra large bathrooms. The kitchen was nicely stocked. The gym was amazing with a lot of equipment for a hotel. However, the greatest asset was THE VIEW of the water and the other hotels across the bay. If you stay here, please grab a glass of wine and one of their comfortable blue lounge chairs and turn it to the west and watch the sunset. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jadestepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
We are very pleased to have welcomed you to our resort. Our front desk team members will be delighted to hear that you felt that they were very pleasant and helpful. We are thrilled to have contributed to you having an enjoyable and relaxing birthday stay with us. We hope that your stay was a memorable one and that you will visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Two couples stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath unit # 8126 owned by Van Nueman; see VBO for unit info. The unit was on the south side, 1st floor walkout to the beach. What a great unit Van has. I highly recommend contacting Van as the unit is in great condition at favorable rates. It has all the amenities you want or need. The Royal Palm is centrally located in Simpson bay and you can easily walk to restaurants, bakery, market and bars. I always get a car though as we love to travel the island.

Back to the resort. The beach is great for wading and swimming as there are little to no waves in the protected cove. Stay on the south side of the beach as the north side has large sharp rocks and seaweed. The public lot on the very end of the south side attracts people to visit for a quick dip and also attracts lovers for evening make-out sessions.

The Cabana restaurant at the Royal is not owed by the resort. We only had lunch there but it was very good with reasonable prices. The bar served us drinks in thin plastic disposable cups and that kind of turned me off to drinking at the beach bar.

Overall I think you will have a great time if you stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor walkout room for easy access to the beach or making food or drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rock36662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
741 reviews
2.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Property: Royal Palm Beach Resort
Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, West Indies, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing