We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“$7.95 Fee charged on Credit card” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Settle Inn & Suites Harlan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Settle Inn & Suites Harlan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harlan
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“$7.95 Fee charged on Credit card”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very surprised with a $7.95 fee for making a reservation. This fee appeared on my credit card statement, separate from the hotel charge. I would have been nice to be told about the fee when the reservation was made. The room was nice but over priced for a small rural town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Larry G,

I apologize for the fee that you encountered during your stay with us. I am not sure what this could have been because our guests are not charged any additional booking fees when booked at our property. I would like everyone to know our property is under new management and we have changed the service culture here. Please feel free to contact me at the property directly to further discuss the extra charge on your card.

Sincerely,

Leslie Tyree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
7
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is 11 miles off I80 but it was worth finding. There is no mileage sign for Harlan but it is the same exit as Avoca.
Our king suite was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast in the morning is adequate and there were plenty of selections. I would recommend this place to anyone passing through.
The reason I gave a rating of 4 is that the man at the desk at night (7 pm) didn't seem too friendly. I also called about the internet password and he seemed put off that I bothered him as the password was on the key card folder. If he would have told me that when we checked in I wouldn't have called. The young woman in the morning did not even ask how our stay was but told me to have a nice day. Friendliness of the staff is very important to me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were in Harlan to visit our son and his family. We stayed 5 nights.

Pros: Large room, friendly staff, insert a card to access room, plenty of lighted parking.

Cons: The shower curtain is opaque on the top. It the water hits that part of the curtain it will go through. Breakfast didn't have much variety.

Pro/con: It is on the edge of Harlan but Harlan being Harlan you still aren't far from anything.

They ask for a rating of the restaurant and fitness room. I didn't see a restaurant on the premises. I didn't see a fitness room but then I didn't look for it either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute
Level Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in town for a wedding on June 7, 2013, I rented 3 rooms and all the rooms were exceptionally clean and well maintained, the staff went out of their way to make accommodations, breakfast was good although I would have rather had scrambled eggs vs hard boiled, just my personal preference. The rooms were very quiet and well kept.
This hotel is located approximately 12 miles off of I-80 on US-59.

Room Tip: If there are 2 people or less in your party spend a few more dollars on a king suite, the larger bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rudy045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently had a family reunion in Harlan and all decided to stay here. We pretty much took over the whole hotel and still had a great experience. There were three two year olds being crazy and we had no complaints from staff. It was very clean and beds were very comfortable. My only complaint is the boring breakfast. Nothing different at all just waffles, cold cereal, bagels and toast. Could use some work. Pool was great but the tile selection around the pool sucked and the kids were always slipping and falling. We mentioned that safety hazard to the management. Overall we had a great stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heath K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlan, Iowa
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

dont get me wrong this is a very nice hotel stayed here many times, I jus recently learned its not a place where you would think its jus as easy and safe to stay in town during a snow storm ,when you have to call the police department and for them to call a tow truck which costed 120.00 to get pulled out of the snow in their driveway into the building cause they dont move snow til the next morning as thats when the maintence person comes in which i was informed .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamitams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I am so sorry for your displeasure with your stay. I will take this into consideration when scheduling the snow plow to see if we can't keep ahead of mother nature next winter! It's tough to do but we will give it our best try! Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Have a great summer ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Harlan does not offer a lot of choice being a small town.
Visited on business, found the Hotel on line, was pleasantly surprised.
Nice new modern, simple Hotel, just off the interstate.
Very friendly and helpful staff, clean simple comfortable rooms.
Basic breakfast is served (included)
Don't expect a 5 star Hotel in Harlan, IA.
This place has all you need for a good overnight stay, probably the best in Harlan.
Finding a good place for dinner is very limited, I did survive 4 days Harlan with semi fast food,
room for improvement here....
Concerning the Hotel, I will stay there again visiting Harlan, IA.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elpresidente_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! Settle Inn & Suites, Harlan is now an award winning hotel with the Boomerang Franchise; we are the proud recipients of the 2012 Innkeeper of the Year, First Impression and Breakfast Presentation awards!

I will certainly pass along your comments, about our dining options, to Shelby County Economic Development.

We appreaciate your visit ~ come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlan
9.8 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Avoca
14.9 mi away
Tivoli Inn & Suites
Tivoli Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Elk Horn
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
23.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Atlantic
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Harlan Inn & Suites
Harlan Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Harlan
3.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
9.9 mi away
Motel 6 Avoca
Motel 6 Avoca
#1 of 3 in Avoca
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
11.6 mi away
Super 8 Walnut
Super 8 Walnut
#1 of 1 in Walnut
3.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settle Inn & Suites Harlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settle Inn & Suites Harlan

Property: Settle Inn & Suites Harlan
Address: 5015 Ridgeway Dr, Harlan, IA 51537-2385
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Harlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Settle Inn & Suites Harlan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Settle Inn & Suites Harlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settle Inn & Suites Harlan Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing