We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice option for Harlan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Settle Inn & Suites Harlan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harlan
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our family has stayed here a number of times over the past three years for family events/business. It was certainly a welcome addition to the hotel options in Harlan. The rooms are clean and the staff is courteous. The pool is small but enjoyable and our rooms have been quiet. It is nice to have a refrigerator in the rooms. We signed up to get e-mail offers and almost always are able to get some kind of discount on our room. The breakfast is nice as we often don't have time to go out. There is always cereal, juice, bagels, bread, limited pastries, and you can make waffles. If they are busy they also have biscuits and gravy.

The only issue we have had with them is online reservations. Sometimes we book by phone or in person, and we have had successful online bookings. However, twice our online booking was miscommunicated and we ended up on a waiting list, or in a different room. So I would recommend verifying your online reservation with the manager via phone to be on the safe side.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovtorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 54 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

The rooms were very clean and cozy. The staff were very helpful. A beautiful location just a stones throw away from the interstate. Would definitely recommend to anyone who happens to be passing through the area. They also offer chocolate chip cookies!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nothing fancy, but I was pretty impressed. Good points: friendly staff, very clean and tidy, comfortable mattress, decent breakfast. I'm not a fan of the sink not being in the bathroom, but that's just me. Not-so-good points: two double beds as opposed to a queen or king, my breakfast biscuit was raw dough inside (but the done part was good, as well as the gravy; when I threw my un-done parts away, I noticed others in the trash, so I'm guessing mine wasn't the only one), our rooom was on the first floor about midway down the hall and we heard every kid who ran by enroute to the pool...sounded like a train going through. Once things settled down for the night, it was quite peaceful. Bring your own hair conditioner as shampoo is all that's provided. All things considered, I'd stay here again. Seems like a good place in a nice town.

Room Tip: Away from the pool might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoosierhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

12 miles off the I 59 located on route 44 the Settle Inn is a newer clean hotel. Breakfast is cerial , toast and waffles. They have a pool, no hot tub, nice showers, coffeemakers, hair dryers, ironing boards, fridges , microwaves and flatscreen TVs. The pillows are bad and the mattress are not too bad a little hard. Maid service is friendly and trustworthy. Overall a good stay. I was here a week and rented the conf room. I would return.

Room Tip: NO ELEVATOR, pick downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank treasurebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel was OK. I have stayed in worse. My only real complaint would be the hallways and my room smelled like stale smoke. Other than that the room was fine and the breakfast was good. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiselvr36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M, General Manager at Settle Inn & Suites Harlan, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

I am so sorry for the problem you encountered on your stay. December 2012 our hotel became a smoke free facility ~ we shouldn't have to experience unpleasant odors any longer. But, please, if you do smell smoke, let the front desk staff know so we can deal with any guest that is not respecting the non-smoking policy. Thanks for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Nice clean & comfortable hotel. Resonably priced Not much for dining in the area. except for fast food. The harlan golf course offed good meals

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakestravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We had a large group of famlies who stayed here while attending a family reunion event in Harlan. The location was convenient. All staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. The hotel provided us with a nice meeting room so that we could gather for breakfasts without overwhelming the other guests. Although the pool is small it is functional and clean. Although, if you are serious about swimming and a workout, everyone who visited the nearby wellness center was very enthused about their offerings. The room was clean, quiet and well appointed. The only minus in my opinion was the location of the sink which was located out of the bathroom and more or less juet off the entrance in the main room. Also, for some reason our room felt damp even though the AC was on. It was cool but it felt like everything was wet, strange. Some of our group mentioned the same observation while others did not notice it in their rooms. The breakfast bar is pretty plain. Waffles was about as fancy as it got. This is more or less a grab and go breakfast. For something more substantial, check out the other local breakfast joints. Overall, it was a great value and served our purposes well.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor, in summer the second floor tends to run warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAMT2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlan
9.9 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Avoca
23.3 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Atlantic
83 reviews
2.2 mi away
Harlan Inn & Suites
Harlan Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Harlan
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Motel 6 Avoca
Motel 6 Avoca
#1 of 3 in Avoca
278 reviews
11.6 mi away
Super 8 Walnut
Super 8 Walnut
#1 of 1 in Walnut
366 reviews
24.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Atlantic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settle Inn & Suites Harlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settle Inn & Suites Harlan

Address: 5015 Ridgeway Dr, Harlan, IA 51537-2385
Location: United States > Iowa > Harlan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harlan
Price Range: $79 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Settle Inn & Suites Harlan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Settle Inn & Suites Harlan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Settle Inn & Suites Harlan Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing