We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend escape”
Review of The Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guttenberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Landing
Ranked #1 of 4 Guttenberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a wonderful find on the Mississippi. Located immediately on the river with it's own dock and Marina, plus a fishing barge when the season open. Wonderful views and high quality, quiet comfortable rooms. Bathrooms very nice, King bed, fridge and microwave. Staff was awesome and beautiful handmade quilts on the beds. A great stay, we'll be back!!

Room Tip: Book early for summer and fall weekends!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for The Landing
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I am a history buff and love to stay in places that give you modern amenities with old-world charm. I ended up in a three-room suite (bathroom, bedroom, and common room) with a room that opened onto the patio next to the Mississippi River. The building is made of old stone, so the walls of my room aided in giving me that impression of history, yet I still had a small refrigerator, coffee making equipment, a microwave, TV, a good shower, etc. I loved this place and would gladly return with my family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Old converted Button Factory! With nice rooms & interior, we rented 2 rooms across from one another & enjoyed watching barges go up and down the river. There are park areas on both sides N & S of the landing. I meet the Owner, He was on site and willing to help. Our stay was a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

No-one on reception to check us in (around 17:45) but the room key and was on the front desk for us. Double room was very clean and well maintained and fantastic value at $49 - no window/view but not expected. The hotel building itself was very unusual and a nice change from the usual hotels. Great location on the edge of the Mississippi. Snacks and drinks available for a few cents, free ice and coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dromomaniacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I hesitate to extol all the pluses of The landing in Guttenberg, Iowa for fear I will never get in again, Too many guests will overtake this "best kept lodging" on the Mississippi. The rooms are quaint, clean, and inviting. I was surprised to see quilts on the beds instead of the usual bedcoverings used in most motels. Guests were socializing on the deck under cumulus clouds and gulls fishing near the lock and dam. The Landing, originally a button factory, is a short walk to any part of the village established in the 1800's. If you are looking for an experience rather than just a place to stay, call The landing Guest House in Guttenberg, Iowa.

Room Tip: Make reservations early esp. in the fall when festivals are in the offing, apples are ripening, fish...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I have been thru Guttenberg many times over the years. Most times we would stop for a meal or coffee/pie but never stayed in town. Recently we decided at the last moment to travel to northeast Iowa and chose to stay at The Landing. We have decided that this will be our go to place to stay when we return to this part of Iowa which is 2 or 3 times a year. We think the building is very nice, it's location is good and the people that own/work there are great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've stayed here 2 summers in a row with a group of friends.

The first year we were on the middle floor with a room directly facing the river and the second year we had the 2 suites on the top floor which were both facing the river. Both types of rooms were great but the suite rooms on the upper level were awesome for our group of friends. They each had a loft area that included a bedroom and a bed in the loft area, a bathroom with an exposed Jacuzzi tub. The main level of the suit had a kitchenette, bathroom, and living room with dining area. They also had a private balcony and on the top floor there was a balcony that looked right out onto the river that we used a lot.

We loved sitting on the balconies or down on the dock with a beer and watching the boats go by.

The building used to be an old button factory before it was converted into a hotel. If you look out along the river beach you can find shells with buttons punched out of them. We loved reading about the history and looking at the historic pieces in the hotel.

The location of the landing is excellent. It is right on the river with excellent views. It's in walking distance from the cute Guttenberg downtown area and the lock and dam just up the river. There are a good restaurants and bars near by and some shopping too. While we were there they had a farmers market and we found all kinds of goods to bring home with us.

Over all I'd definitely recommend The Landing for anyone looking for a place to stay on the river. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and they really want you to feel at home and welcomed while you are there. It was so much fun with our group of friends. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vanessagrausam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guttenberg
19.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Prairie Du Chien
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Prairie...
#1 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
592 reviews
18.9 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Marquette, IA/Prairie Du Chien
17.3 mi away
Bluffview Inn & Suites
Bluffview Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prairie du Chien
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#4 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
295 reviews
19.9 mi away
Lancaster Welcome Inn
Lancaster Welcome Inn
#2 of 2 in Lancaster
14 reviews
17.3 mi away
Super 8 Prairie du Chien
Super 8 Prairie du Chien
#3 of 12 in Prairie du Chien
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing

Address: 703 S. River Park Drive, Guttenberg, IA 52052
Location: United States > Iowa > Guttenberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Guttenberg
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
The Landing Guttenberg, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing