We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grinnell
Ft. Collins, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Although the premise seemed to be in good shape, we could not get all of the tv stations and the person at the front desk was too lazy to come to our room to help. Also, the front desk messed up our reservation and double billed us. They have never made the correction and won't return my calls or my emails. The WORST customer service I have ever experienced. Don't stay here because if something goes wrong, too bad. They'll do nothing to help you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DLunn715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    49
    20
    8
    13
See reviews for
65
29
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stopped at this Comfort Suites based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the east side to limit highway and aircraft noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmerGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Thank you for recognizing our friendly staff. I personally love staying on the west side because you have a beautiful view of the sunset. I have been noticing this week there is a lot of activity of planes at the Regional Grinnell Airport, so I can appreciate your opinion of staying on the east side which also has beautiful views of greenery.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Omer Ahmad
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
6412365236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie, co
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Clean Hotel. Arrived at 4 am rate was still $95.00. No issues. Beds were comfortable could use some new bedding, blankets and bedspreads seemed old. Color on the walls would make a difference as well.
Walmart and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmerGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your recognition of our cleanliness. Our Housekeepers do a great job and give attention to details. Thank you for your feedback about the bedding. I am excited to tell you that we have ordered all new bedding, and will start implementing in a few months. All Comfort Inns will have new bedding by Fall.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Omer Ahmad
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
6412365236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

First of all, rated this as "average" because there are many properties that better fit "poor" overall.
THE GOOD: Without looking too close, the rooms appeared to be fairly clean.
Nice TV with plenty of TV channels to chose from.
Gentleman at front desk at check-in was friendly and helpful.
THE NOT SO GOOD: Melted chocolate ice cream or something in elevator and on floor outside elevator on 2nd floor was there the entire time. Smelled and was sticky.
Breakfast / Breakfast area: Out of plates on a Tuesday morning. Girl said they were "full over weekend and ran out" Really? There's a Wal-Mart right down the road.
Tables were covered with crumbs, butter etc.... Not many people in there and upkeep was lacking. Carpet had crumbs and cereal in many areas.
Garbage can in breakfast area required you to push open the lid to throw things away. Lid was filthy and sticky from drinks / butter etc.... This should be addressed.
If you face the back (East) and like your windows open, be prepared to hear the semi trucks idling out there starting early.
Internet deathly slow.

Did not use any of the facilities. Won't stay here again. Country Inn next door is much nicer.

Room Tip: Suites with seperate sitting areas are a plus. Ask for one. Do you want the glaring sun in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kubzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmerGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and very impressed with property. About 1/2 mile to I-80 and several restaurants nearby. Rooms and facility are very clean, nice breakfast area with good variety. Friendly and very professional staff. Would stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imageworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmerGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We try our best to be professional and all of our personalities are inherently friendly I am glad that we were able to accommodate all of your special requests and made your guest experience a memorable one.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Omer Ahmad
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
6412365236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for my nieces graduation.
The hotel staff was excellent and so welcoming and supporting.
They bent over backwards to make this special occasion wonderful!

They honored every request and met the challenge with a smile.

Thank-you so much

Julie Looney

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieannl345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmerGM, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Congratulations on your Niece's huge accomplishment. I hope she goes on to do great things and achieve great success in the market place. I am glad that we were able to accomodate all of your special requests and made your guest experience a memorable one.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Omer Ahmad
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
6412365236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Took my handicapped (stroke--wheelchair--limited speech) husband and his somewhat forgetful brother (both 77) to their 55th Grinnell College Reunion May 31-June 2. Beds were excellent, rooms kept clean & tidy, amazing breakfast supervised by Tina. Everyone on staff--from making the reservations to contact during our stay--was well-trained, very helpful, and became our best friends during our stay. We have stayed in other motels on other stays, but all our return visits will be with Comfort Inn. Very reasonably priced and outstanding service from everyone. We were on the west (main road) side, but did not hear much noise. Certainly it did not interfere with our sleeping or visiting. Make this place your stop when visiting Grinnell. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer786, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Lois from Texas,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

You are very funny, and it was a pleasure meeting with you and your wonderful family. I hope you all had a great time at the Reunion. I'm sure you had a lot of catching up to do with friends and aquaintences.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Omer Ahmad
General Manager
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
6412365236
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grinnell
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Grinnell
107 reviews
14.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#5 of 8 in Newton
263 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Holiday Manor Newton
14.4 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
Address: 1630 West St S, Grinnell, IA 50112-8105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grinnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Grinnell
Grinnell Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing