We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home with a wonderful breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grinnell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spaulding Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Grinnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home with a wonderful breakfast!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay here. So relaxing and inviting. We live in the country so I wasn't used to the traffic noise we heard from the location of the inn. It's located on a busier street in Grinnell. But, I'm a light sleeper. My husband didn't notice it at all. Also had trouble getting the TV to work. All in all, it was great place though. Breakfast was lovely, in a private little area. We would go back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
18
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We came to Grinnell as my son is a prospective student at the college. Our stay at Spaulding Inn was wonderful. The Inn is a beautiful museum with lovely art and furniture but also comfortable and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and Valerie made it allergy free for my husband who is allergic to dairy, pork, citrus and tomatoes. If our son gets into Grinnell, we plan to stay at the Spaulding Inn again when we visit him.

Room Tip: Some rooms have shared bathroom. Our room had its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I contacted the owners of the Spaulding Inn and asked them if we could take over the B&B for our family's Thanksgiving Weekend. Since we were the only ones there on Thanksgiving Day they accommodated our needs as if it were our home. This was the only way our family could all celebrate Thanksgiving together in a home like setting. Thanks so much to the owners and their family for helping us have a great stay.

Green Features: All food served was local if possible. Healthy choices were a priority. They accommodated my needs for a green smoothie for breakfast. We were able to have Thanksgiving dinner catered in from a local grocery.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had a lovely room with a private bath. The house itself is very comfortable, though it feels almost like a museum, with interesting things to look at wherever you go. Breakfasts were tasty, and custom-made for our tastes (I'm a vegetarian). Great location for walking into town and to the college. Very hospitable in every way!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bklynjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Spaulding Inn several times. Each time has been as lovely as the next. We have been made to feel very welcome, and the inn has become a home away from home both for us and for our daughter who is a student at Grinnell. The house is charming -- filled with Grinnell history, and the food is delicious.

Green Features: The bedding is made of organic cotton, the food is made from home grown and locally sourced ingredients.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry-jane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

After reserving for Wed. and Thurs. nights, I stayed an extra day and night due to an icy road and snow dusting, without skipping a beat. The fact of a Gold EPA energy rating and great attention to organic food, really in everything they served, were particularly impressive.
Valerie and her family can truly be proud of what they have built. Their guests can help by creating a buzz that brings in even more business. I think this would be a great place for business travelers to stay, except there is so much heritage in the house, appointments might be delayed while studying the history of the home and its former owners.
The beautiful woodwork, stained glass windows and screened in porch make this a potentially great spring or fall stopping point. When I go back for meetings at Grinnell College, I think I will try to hit the Spaulding, at least for one night.

Room Tip: Rooms that share a bathroom might be tricky if one is in a hurry in the a.m. For me, it was never a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A great stay! Awesome breakfast! Courteous and engaging staff! Clean rooms! Will be back!

I was pleasantly surprised to stay at a place with so much history. I felt right at home and was pleased to have all the amenities of hotels while being much more comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarchanAdkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grinnell
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grinnell
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Grinnell
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Grinnell
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Newton
14.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Newton
18.7 mi away
Days Inn Newton
Days Inn Newton
#3 of 8 in Newton
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spaulding Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spaulding Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Spaulding Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1103 Main St, Grinnell, IA 50112-1635
Location: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Grinnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1907 Spaulding Home showcases a large staircase, 2 fireplaces, burl walnut and oak woodwork, leaded stained glass windows, and Quoizel chandiliers. Within 2 blocks of college and downtown. Nearby bike trail, Ahrens Park, Krumm Preserve, 2 golf courses, aquatic center with water slides and lazy river, and 18 hole disc golf course. Local and organic foods along with other sustainable practices are a priority. Mattresses in 5 of the 6 rooms and all pillows are made by Savvy Rest, rated the most sustainable mattress company. Our sheets are organic cotton grown and spun in the United States of America.All rooms that share a bathroom have an Native Organic robe included. We also have Native Organic (organic cotton linens grown, spun and woven in the United States of America) and Savvy Rest (mattresses, pillows, sheets, etc.) products for sale. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spaulding Inn Bed And Breakfast Grinnell, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing