We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
66
27
8
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
27
8
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk exceptional hotel des moines definately stay again a great place to stay american inn public areas family reunion very clean hotel nothing fancy room was large beds were comfortable we've stayed great room in town amenities fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 117 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2018

Overall this hotel was good. Could use an upgrade with the beds, some seem pretty old and not as comfortable . Some minor upgrades would make this hotel great again! Pool was definitely the warmest i've ever been in - Amazing! Kids had a great time!
A little more variety in breakfast would help too

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank countrygalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018

On New Years Eve they only had one person that was doing everything including the desk and bar. When we were in the bar she acted like we were bothering her to get a beer. Did I mention it was NEW YEARS EVE!!! There should have been a bartender there along with a desk attendent. We have been there many years before this and have never had a problem and this year was a nightmare. I will never go back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank reneesQ9985JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInn-Grimes-GM, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Grimes, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

We have taken direct action to make sure this will never happen again, our hotel respects the guests that we are so lucky to have. It was unfortunate that some of the guests that joined us in the beer and wine pub got too drunk and were out of control. I understand this was "NEW YEARS EVE" but all the more reason to enjoy yourselves at a reasonable level. We are a hotel first and foremost, we appreciate what we have - and we look to have more events at the hotel in the future. Events that people can have fun at; without getting out of control. The mentioned front desk associate is no longer employed at the hotel even though we had Many compliments from other guests about our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017

We return to the DSM area every Thanksgiving and have tried other hotels. AmericInn in Grimes is a 'just right' fit. Not too close to DSM but close enough for easy access on Black Friday. While this location isn't a 5 star resort the service & ammenities to cost makes it a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank wyeth2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInn-Grimes-GM, General Manager at AmericInn by Wyndham Grimes, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

We are very pleased to have you return to our hotel. Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We stayed here in August on our way to view the eclipse. Friendly staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds. A freak electrical problem during a storm caused the fire alarm to sound, but the night clerk was able to prevent the alarms from sounding in the rooms during the rest of the storm. I would definitely stay here again if I were in the Des Moines area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Thrifty61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

We had a good stay here with friendly staff and reliable if not spectacular breakfast. Comfortable beds and clean room and bathroom. Internet was too slow to be usable (disappointing and inconvenient). Pool was reliable and bit too warm. Fire alarm went off twice in the middle of the night but I assume that's unusual. We felt this hotel was a good value.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
1  Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews