We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have a drink!”

Los Altos Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Greenfield
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Macon, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Have a drink!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was not thrilled to eat here but it was so much better. The menu had wide variety. Service was great. They didn't speak the best English but not an issue. Prices were reasonable. Drinks were great - order the piña colada

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank misslondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

With limited choices in Greenfield, this was an ok place to eat. The food was your average Mexican fare, nothing outstanding. The drinks seemed to be watered down some. I will say the service was good, although there were only a few tables occupied when we were there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grobanite731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic Mexican food”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Went with in-laws to Los Altos. I could tell from the menu that they knew what they were doing. Many traditional and special Mexican dishes. Chips and salsa (an important clue to the quality of a Mexican restaurant) were good, and they do have salsa mas picante for those who want something beyond "gringo" spicy. Food was very good. In fact, excellent. Bad news is it is an hour from where we live. Good news is they just (in November 2013) put a new Los Altos in Stuart, only half an hour from our house. Now we regularly head to Stuart for our fill of great Mexican food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakePanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, Iowa
Level Contributor
354 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in Iowa”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've been fishing the lakes of Iowa by counties. Since Adair County is the first one, we have been going to Greenfield quite a bit as we've fished. We had not tried Los Altos until the next to the last lake. OMG! There food is just the best! Son & I got normal mexican combo dinners and they were scrumptuous, but Hub got a Ribeye Steak and it had the most wondeful flavor! So much so, we decided to fish the last lake in this county (and it had a warning so we had previously decided not to fish it) just so we could go right back to this restaurant, where we all got the steaks! We also got Guacamole and cheese dips and made little pigs out of ourselves, but it was all worth it. DO NOT MISS GOING TO THIS GREAT RESTAURANT!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azona50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
154 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Incredible Mexican Food in Greenfield”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place opened 5 months ago in an old Pizza Hut restaurant. They serve great TexMex food. Very reasonable and the portions are so large they could serve 2. They also grill steaks well. We planned to go here 1 night during a 4 day visit and ended up there 3 nights - it was soooo good. For Greenfiels, it is the best place in town to eat. Fast and attentive service, too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank silvervalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Altos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Greenfield, IA

Been to Los Altos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing