We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Greenfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Greenfield
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenfield
Fort Madison, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Greenfield! It has recently been renovated and is beautiful! Our room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The bonus was the Olive Branch restaurant connected to the hotel. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We highly recommend the Hotel Greenfield!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Greenfield this weekend for a wedding. The hotel was recently renovated with so much charm and character. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The adjoining resturant the Olive Branch also has great food and service.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Highly recommended! This is a special hotel in a special part of Iowa. Just a few miles from Roseman Bridge and a lovely drive from Winterset. A pristine, well appointed hotel. Great big, clean, modern, yet classic room with lovely furnishings. Very pleasant, accommodating staff. What a value...easily a $200 to $300 a night hotel near any metro area. Restaurant next door is good. Wish we could have eaten there on "Greek Night." Thanks for a great surprise and fantastic memories.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is our second stay in the rennovated Hotel Greenfield. It's small but magnificent. The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are very, very nice. Beds are the best - you can sleep for days. Plenty of counter space near the sink, which is not in the bathroom but in the room. It works, though. A nice little refrigerator is in the room, but there is only one community microwave located on the 1st floor. This hotel does not have an elevator - that is a problem that cannot be solved due to the historic designation, or so I was told. However, there are 2 rooms on the 1st floor for those who cannot climb stairs and they are setup for handicapped persons. We've stayed in both types of rooms and the 2nd floor rooms are a little larger. Nice flat screen TVs on the wall and an armoire for your hanging clothes (no closets - this is an old hotel). Extremely nice people run the place. A computerized grand piano is in the lobby for your listening pleasure. Next door is the Olive Branch restaurant. See that review under "restaurants".

No pool or spa. No fitness room. But you can climb the stairs to the 3rd floor for exercise ;-)

We love this place and have already reserved our rooms for next year!

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs, get one of the 2 rooms on the 1st floor. 108 is the best bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvervalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Callsburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pleasant, relaxing, home-like ambiance. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They take delight in our delight. The rooms are spacious, very clean, nice furniture. Our room has a large balcony (like!). The town has a "nice" feel to it. There are a few shops on the square with at least two more planned to open soon. Ed and Eva's features high-end, Iowa-made products. Above Ed and Eva's is the Opera House - you can take a guided tour or look around on your own. The Olive Branch is the restaurant attached to the Hotel. The owners are Greek and the heritage shows in the food. Their homemade pizza is very good and unique. Long's Market also on the square sells homemade jams and fresh baked breads and rolls. Across from the Hotel is a building housing (maybe 20) classic cars. To enter the building you must call for an appointment. The bowling alley is a step back in time and that includes the cost to bowl. The Henry Wallace birthplace is a 8 miles south. They serve meals made from fresh produce grown on the farm. A wonderful experience. I believe this one time I can speak for the others in my family -- we enjoyed our weekend tremendously. Kudos to all these hard working folks for making the Greenfield area so appealing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEC7686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Enjoyed the feel of the town and the delights of this hotel and attached restaurant. The only challenge was the lack of an elevator. The 3rd floor parking lot view rooms are quiet and spacious. Love the fact that they use family sized body wash and shampoo containers in the shower area and greet guests with a yellow rubber duck on the tub. Dinner next door was better than expected with outstanding service and pricing. We'd stay again!

Room Tip: Those with limited mobility or difficulty carrying bags need to seek a first floor room as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scgalinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level Contributor
222 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

From the staff to the room to the facilities the Hotel Greenfield is a winner. The place has history, and good ambiance. Our room was very clean and spacious. And after a day of driving it was very good for us that there is an attached restaurant. A no-brainer if you're planning to stay in Greenfield.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Greenfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenfield

Property: Hotel Greenfield
Address: 110 E Iowa St, Greenfield, IA 50849-1225
Location: United States > Iowa > Greenfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Greenfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Greenfield has been beautifully renovated for the modern traveler. All rooms are spacious, clean, and have a private bath. Hotel Greenfield is on the National Register of Historic Places so it also retains its charm with original woodwork, windows, lobby area, phone booth, winding stair case, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Greenfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenfield Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing