We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Greenfield "a little slice of heaven"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Greenfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Greenfield
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel Greenfield "a little slice of heaven"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

When was the last time the front desk "clerk" or in the case Hotel Greenfield the Inn Keeper, prior to arrival warmed or cooled your lodgings? Hotel Greenfield has each time I have checked in, matter fact the hotel staff goes out of their way to make your stay more comfortable. The Hotel is newly renovated, with a well executed finish out leaving no detail untouched. The bathrooms are hygienic, spacious, and bright. The hotel Has gone to great lengths to make your accommodations stress free. From wfi to a make-up removal towel, clean sheets and comfortable bed to the leather chair, and not to forget the FLOATING RUBBER DUCK at the bathtubs edge.

Best accommodations in a 100 miles.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    10
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holton, Kansas
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The local investors have done a great job of revitalizing this hotel to a condition better than when it was new. Our room was clean and spacious and the bed comfortable. It was nice having a restuarant on site. The staff was helptufl and friendly. If you are looking for a night out in this area you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very, very poor. Wish I could select -10. My door was left open one of the 2 days out of 5 they cleaned!!!!!!!! No clean towels. Bed not touched. I even spoke with the "boss", did no good. WILL NOT stay there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelgreenfield, General Manager at Hotel Greenfield, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We apologize for the confusion during your stay with us. As we discussed while you were here, we do not enter rooms when the 'Do Not Disturb' sign is posted on the door. Since you left your sign out during your stay, we thought you did not want your room cleaned. We hope you give us another chance, and we hope you are satisfied that we refunded you one night's stay for your inconvenience. We are striving to do better, and check with guests daily to see if they would like service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Mars, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is recently refurbished and you can tell they took their time and did it right. Very nice rooms- welcoming and professional staff. The front desk acted as our concierge- found us things to do in the area (there is much to do!) and printed out maps for us to use. The opera house next door has also been restored so we toured that as well. It looks like Greenfield is making an effort to revive and succeeding. We will recommend this to all our friends and family. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Our only SMALL complaint was that for breakfast all that was offered in the connecting restaurant was biscuits and gravy. We went back to the hotel and they gave us yogurt, fresh fruit, home made muffins and juice which we appreciated. Maybe that's what they should offer all guests?

Room Tip: Corner rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Greenfield for my niece's wedding. The room was wonderful. The bed was vey comfortable. When we needed an iron for my son's slacks they were very accomodating. It is so nice to find a great boutique hotel in a cute town like Greenfield. I would drive the 13 miles off of I-80 to stay there on a trip across Iowa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1982PandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manson, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hotel Greenfield is a five star place to stay. It is comfortable and historic. I found our room to reasonably priced. The room was spotless and had everything that makes you comfortable. Eating at the motel was a top notch experience filled with great food and Greek accents. My husband still raves about the onion rings! The movie theater is within in walking distance (located on the town square). If you want a relaxing get away with sights and fun things to do in the area this is the place for you. I can't wait to go back! The staff is friendly and very helpful you truly do feel welcome. The town was friendly and people would say Hi as they passed by. It doesn't get better than this! Historic and comfortable wow!

Room Tip: Don't forget the movie theater is close by! There is also an Opera House/ events productions the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We visited Madison County for a quick one-night trip. The only hotel in Winterset is a Super 8, and I am not much of a bed-and-breakfast person. As a result, we ended up staying at the Hotel Greenfield, and it was a good choice.

I believe the Hotel Greenfield re-opened just last year, and everything still seems fairly new. The web site does not do it justice – the rooms are quite nice and spacious, and the lobby is small but attractive.

We stayed in a Queen room on the second floor, and it was easily large enough for two people. My only complaint about the room was that the sink is in the main room, rather than the bathroom. That made getting ready in the morning something of a hassle.

There is a nice courtyard in the back, and you can buy drinks from the front desk or bring your own to the courtyard.

A bar across the street had a live band that night, and the band played quite loudly until around 11 or 11:30 p.m. I wasn’t expecting street noise in Greenfield, Iowa.

Breakfast policy has recently changed. Menu service is no longer available in the mornings in the adjoining restaurant. Instead, the restaurant sets out a very simple buffet meal for hotel guests. The most charitable thing to say about the breakfast was that it was free.

The Hotel Greenfield provides a good value for the price, and is a great choice for anyone visiting either Adair or Madison Counties. It might be a nice little getaway for folks from Des Moines and Omaha.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a Saturday night, you might ask for a room on the south side. Our room on nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenfield
14.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Stuart
15.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Stuart
16.3 mi away
Budget Inn Adair
Budget Inn Adair
#1 of 2 in Adair
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Winterset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenfield

Property: Hotel Greenfield
Address: 110 E Iowa St, Greenfield, IA 50849-1225
Location: United States > Iowa > Greenfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Greenfield 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Greenfield has been beautifully renovated for the modern traveler. All rooms are spacious, clean, and have a private bath. Hotel Greenfield is on the National Register of Historic Places so it also retains its charm with original woodwork, windows, lobby area, phone booth, winding stair case, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Greenfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenfield Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing