We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtakingly Beautiful”
other traveler has booked this property
Holiday Villa Borgo Gaia Sabina
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday Villa Borgo Gaia Sabina
Borgo by night Borgo from a distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Holiday Villa Borgo Gaia Sabina
Borgo by night
Borgo from a distance
Covered terras facing south
View from gym
Lounge set portico
Apt private entrance
1st bedroom apt
Bedroom with single beds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Roccantica, Province of Rieti, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
WildCoyPh...
2 reviews
“Breathtakingly Beautiful”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The little and quaint village of Sabina is situated about 45 minutes drive outside of Rome (A hire car is a must!). The owners of the Gaia Sabina, Henk and Gea, gave us really clear directions of how to get to the property but if you can get your hands on a sat nav I would highly suggest it. The luxury home is hidden away in the hills, which makes for a tranquil and beautiful stay but also makes it tricky to find down all the backcountry roads.

Upon arrival we were really hungry so Henk and Gea took us to a local restaurant to gorge in a traditional Italian 'pranzo'. A huge meal traditionally eaten on a Sunday with the whole family. The drive through all the little communities gave us a perfect first insight into what life is like for a local. The areas were really quintessentially Italian. Flowers were growing in every garden, fields of olive trees scattered the land and small clouds hovered over the hills like waves over rocks.

The restaurant was already so busy and it was only 2pm. The male owner who was the most energetic and uplifting person you could ever meet greeted us. Despite nobody really speaking more than a few words of English you felt like you were at home and in fantastic company. The Italians are so passionate and expressive you almost don't need to be able to understand to catch the gist of what they are saying. Henk and Gea ordered for us (in Italian) and we just ate whatever was bought out. The first course was an assortment of vegetables and cheeses. Nearly all locally grown and produced and each as delicious as the next. Then out came a mixture of handmade pasta dishes. Simple flavours and simple ingredients but oh so beautiful. The third course was a mixture of meats, again local and again delicious!

Upon returning back to the Gaia Sabina, Henk showed me round. You could feel the passion and love for his house in his voice. I love to hear about people’s projects so I was more than happy to lend an ear. Although the home is only 6 years old the story behind every room, every tile and every brick makes you quickly realise every piece of the house has been carefully selected and that the 6 year age of the building couldn’t be further from the truth. One of the striking things for me was when I found out the whole house was almost self-sufficient. Energy is taken from the sun, the air and the soil to help power the house. A beautifully modern approach to a very antique looking build.

Our self-catering apartment was perfectly sized for two people and so beautiful, clean and modern even though it had an antique feel. We had an almost 360 degree view from the terrace with the beautiful town of Roccantica perched on the hill directly in front of us. Had it been warmer we would have been free to use the swimming pool and grounds but we found ourselves driving around and exploring everything the area had to offer.

There are so many small towns scattered around and each one has something to different to offer but if you do get stuck for things to do I would highly suggest making a trip into Orvieto. The town is about a 1 hours drive from the apartment but so worth it. Orvieto houses one of the most beautiful cathedrals I have ever seen. The front is plated in tiny individual golden pieces and there are some immense patterns and statues. Orvieto also has some beautiful restaurants and so many Italian side streets that you can get lost in the atmosphere for a whole day. There is paid parking at the top of the hill near the entrance to the town (cars aren’t allowed in the town centre) but about halfway down you can find free parking and steps up to the heart of the town.

Top Tip

The toll roads can be very confusing if you are new to Italy. Basically you get a ticket when entering a motorway and then when coming off you put your ticket in the machine and pay (cash, coins or card) using the dispenser. The confusing part comes when deciding which gate to go through. The locals who use the motorways daily use TRESPASS. You want to go through any gate that isn’t labeled trespass. The same applies when coming off the motorway although the signs with money on make this a bit clearer.

I would strongly suggest a visit to the Gaia Sabina and I thoroughly enjoyed my short time in Italy.

Danny Coy
(WildCoyPhotography)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2016
Thank you Danny for this great review. We loved having you both. See you soon, bye for now Gea and Henk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler1...
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dream Holiday just relaxing”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We where absolutely surprised to find this jewel just 40 to 50 min away from Rome.
It was the ideal way to combine relaxing romantic evenings sitting outside enjoying a glass of wine and having the possibility to go and explore Rome during the day.

Thank you very much for giving us the chance to stay at this lovely place we really had a wonderful time there .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: to leave after the vacation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur H
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place for an Italian get away”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Last summer I stayed with friends and family in the Borgo Gaia Sabina: we were very happy with our choice! The house is well equipped and the swimming pool is great. Such a quiet and beautiful place so close to Rome. Contact with Gea and Henk was very pleasant: they know their way around the area and are always happy to give you advice regarding restaurants or anything else.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neerijnen, The Netherlands
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture and decoration.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul Z
Abcoude, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and amazing holiday location”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed 2 weeks in Borgo Gaia Sabina and we had a wonderful time. It's a beautiful house which looks authentic, but has all the comfort and luxury you may expect. All is perfectly managed by the owners so you can really focus on a relaxing holiday. It's situated in a suprisingly nice part of Italy which is not really discovered (and therefor spoiled) by overcrowded turism. We felt really at home during our stay and can't wait to go back again one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfred M
1 review
“Beautiful house with gorgeous view near Rome”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2013

The spacious house is newly build in an olive orchard, and fits in the environment perfectly. Very comfortable, beautiful grand fire place, fully equipped kitchen, eat inside or outside (with view) or in one of the many great rstaurants nearlby . The house is on the top of a hill (the last part to the house is pretty steep to reach by car, and the entrap not easily found) and the panoramic view of the hills and surroundings is stunning. Swimming pool and poolhouse in the garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The comfort of the house and view
Liked least: The steep entrance road
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie d
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, amazing, beautiful country house, close to Rome”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful house was more than we expected, when we arrived in Italy. Amazing views, quiet settings and SOO close to Rome. The perfect holiday location for friends and family, sharing one house but with so much private space to feel constant at each. Irene, the contact person, who was waiting for us in the house upon arrival, was wonderful and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the cooking class she and her mother gave us. Upon request, the fridge was stocked and the house in tiptop shape. What more does one want!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity of Rome
Liked least: That we only booked for one week
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing