We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingsley Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Fort Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Kingsley Inn is a very nice Bed & Breakfast located across the street from the old Santa Fe Depot and the restored fort. Some of the rooms have lovely views of the river. Breakfast selections were limited but this is often true in a B&B. The food was excellent with friendly service from the host and her college student daughter. We also enjoyed our evening meal at Alpha's which is in the same building. The food was very good and we were surprised at the number of empty tables. We will definitely stay here on our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkizer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
15
26
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Kingsley Inn is a nice enough place, but it is starting to show some age and lack of maintenance. Our room key and door handle never did work. The breakfast was OK, but very crowded with some pretty self entitled guests that detracted from the overall experience. We did celebrate our anniversary and the manager let us enjoy our own champagne out on the patio area which was very nice indeed. The building is in a great location and I would stay here again, but would hope that the time, effort, and money that went into restoring this building will not go to waste through lack of periodic maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulpoeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The people in the room next to me must be deaf because I can perfectly hear everything they are watching on television. It is a cop show with a lot of cussing/beeping! It's midnight I don't want to hear your television. I didn't pay 110 for a room where I wouldn't be able to sleep. I just stayed up all night praying their television wouldn't wake up my daughter because I knew they wouldn't want to hear her screaming all night.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeesSummitMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We've stayed at the Kingsley a time or two a year for over 5 years now as we visit family. Up until the last couple of years, it was charming, well run, clean and had gracious hosts. Unfortunately that has all changed. In any interactions with the hosts, one gets the feeling you are inconveniencing them and all arrangements seem to be centered around their needs. Virtually no warmth or service. The physical plant is slowly deteriorating with each visit finding more and more things like light switches, door locks, and the like not working and not fixed from visit to visit. Clearly business is way off and I have no doubt the financial strain is great. However, it appears to be a self fulfilling prophecy as this property is slowly moving down the scale. What a shame as the facility and rooms were once in great shape and were truly amazing. I still want to like this place very much but each time we visit, the disappointments get greater and greater.

Room Tip: Be comfortable with lots of train noise. Rooms facing the parking lot are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stay at alot of hotels and most are indistinguishable from each other. This is a small hotel in a little town that is definitely unique. It is in a old building that has been redone. If you get there early, they have all the doors to the vacant rooms open so you can go and see the decor in each room. All the rooms are very tastefully done, and have classique antique furnishings. If you are into neat old hotels, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Here is the deal with Fort Madison, there is train traffic all day and NIGHT long, so if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruc3urock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Definitely get a room overlooking the trains and river. You will hear the 83 trains a day, but for some reason, they didn't seem to wake us up at night. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts are wonderful. We were there for 5 nights and every breakfast had a different hot entree -- the cinnamon French toast made like a bread pudding was to die for. The Kingsley has a lot more charm and character than the Comfort Inn in Fort Madison and it's even less expensive.

Room Tip: The Web site has virtual tours of every room and we found that they were accurate. You will get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Kingsley Inn. This is a really nice hotel, with a wide variety of different rooms with different decors and amenities. The website shows each room and describes the room in detail, so you can pick what you want before you go. The hotel has an attached restaurant, Alpha's on the Riverfront, which is nothing fancy but you can get a decent meal there. There are many other restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel, so this is a good location. The newly restored Fort Madison is across the street, which will be interesting to history buffs. This is a great weekend getaway for historians and train enthusiasts. As others have said, the trains are loud, so you might want to consider that when booking a room.

Room Tip: Check the website, which has pictures and descriptions of all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azouma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Madison
3.4 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Fort Madison
83 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Hampton Inn Keokuk
#1 of 6 in Keokuk
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
Catfish Bend Inn & Spa
#1 of 11 in Burlington
132 reviews
14.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Burlington
Comfort Suites Burlington
#2 of 11 in Burlington
115 reviews
15.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Keokuk North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsley Inn

Property: Kingsley Inn
Address: 707 Avenue H, Fort Madison, IA 52627
Location: United States > Iowa > Fort Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Grand Victorian Inn overlooking the Mississippi River. Exquisite antiques along with today's modern amenities are found throughout. Close to Nauvoo, casino, golf & antiques. Whirlpool and fireplace suites available. Wireless Internet provided throughout the property. A delicious complimentary breakfast is served each morning. Lunch and dinner is available at Atlas Steak and Smokehouse, our own an award-winning restaurant. The Inn has an elevator, off-street parking, and can arrange taxi service at cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingsley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsley Inn Fort Madison, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing