We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE rooms. Nice staff.”
Review of Budget Host Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Budget Host Inn
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE rooms. Nice staff.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Very old. Overpriced. This place still has room KEYS. I had to try multiple times to get the key to work. Smoking and non smoking rooms in same hallway. Mattresses felt like box springs. Curtains were stained. Staff however was very friendly and helpful. On site restaurant and bar was nice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank KellyBB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
1
2
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Absolutely by far the single WORST hotel/motel that we have ever stayed in. The place hasn't been updated since it opened that includes the mattresses, bedding blankets ect....the springs were coming through the bed mattresses broken down & lopsided stains covering the mattresses sheets kept falling off because instead of using a fitted bottom sheet they threw on another (dirty) flat sheet! Sheets covered in (someone else's) pubic hair......DISGUSTING!
sink full of hair, dirty bathroom. Vending machines sold melted & out of date snack item's, pop machine stole your money. Onsite restaurant WAY OVER PRICED + the food was overcooked but yet cold temperature wise! Just an overall TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!! I WOULD ADVISE EVERYONE TO GO ELSEWHERE. I'm not too sure they don't have bedbugs because I was itching all night & today I have a few marks on my legs & such, however, we just got home today so I'm gonna give it a day or two & see what becomes of things?
BEWARE OF THE BUDGET HOST INN in Fort Dodge Iowa ..... :(

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kbrundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Not spectacular, but not bad for an older establishment. Employees were very pleasant. Swimming pool was very clean & well kept up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 555smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

It isn't the Marriott, but for the price, it's a good place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSuperAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Not only has this place apparently never been updated but it doesnt matter if you request a smoking or nonsmoking room. The entire place smells like a dirty ashtray! The employees act like you are an imposition on their day. I travel extensively and this was by far the filthiest, most disgusting place I've ever stayed in. I would buy a tent or sleep in my car before I'd ever stay there again. I felt so dirty when I left. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dagny75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pauls, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Went back to Ft Dodge for our Grandaughters graduation and stayed at the Budget Host Inn for 10 days. We found the staff very accommodating and the service was excellant. The rooms were clean and roomy. Used the swimming pool a lot and it was clean and a comfortable temperature.We would recommand this to any of our friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunray37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

I was with a group staying in Fort Dodge for a softball touny and was a little worried about this hotel after reading past reviews. It turned out to be an ok hotel. It was old but had been updated. The girls had fun in the pool which was big enough and deep enough for them to horse around in. Everyone ate at the Celler and I can not say enough good things about the food however the service left something to be desired. If you are looking for a fancy hotel this is not it but if you just want a clean safe place you will be fine here.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Dodge hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Dodge
Quality Inn Fort Dodge
#8 of 11 in Fort Dodge
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites Fort Dodge
3.9 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Fort Dodge, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Fort Dodge
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Fort Dodge
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Property: Budget Host Inn
Address: 116 Kenyon Rd W, Fort Dodge, IA 50501-5711 (Formerly Quality Inn North)
Location: United States > Iowa > Fort Dodge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Budget Inn in Fort Dodge, Iowa your are getting more than just your regular Budget Inn Stay. With a newly built Restaurant right on the premises, full bar and tons of amenities to enjoy, why leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel
Budget Host Inn Fort Dodge, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing