We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish there was something between "poor" and "average"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Starlite Village

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Starlite Village
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wish there was something between "poor" and "average"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights while in Fort Dodge for a speaking engagement. I chose "poor" instead of "average" because I feel in some ways this hotel is below average (at least from what I'm used to.) However, it is not fully poor.

Pros
-desk staff nice enough, and also helpful when I called on the phone
-pool area lovely. I did not swim, but sat down by it for a bit one day to read
-breakfast available (I'm putting breakfast as both a pro and a con) on one hand, it was reasonable in that there was a variety of food and plenty of it
-coffeemaker provided in room which I did not use but nice to have option
-iron/ironing board/hair dryer all provided, all of which I used
-appreciated having a safe available in the room
-game room available although I did not use it
-newspapers available to those who wanted them
-computer and printer allowed me to print boarding passes easily
-had option to have a fan on constant which provided great white noise. I also enjoyed setting the room temperature to something comfortable to me.

Cons
-no lock on entrance doors like many hotels nowadays where you usually use your key to get into an outer door as well as your room. I think that is important and feel this is a "con" for a hotel these days not to have this type of security
-breakfast - it just didn't have the same appeal as at some hotels. The room is rather dingy and some of the food seemed to cater toward heavy meals (i.e. biscuits, gravy, sausage). To be fair, there were alternatives like some fruit, waffle maker, oatmeal, too. So I'm not sure why my perception is such...it may just be that the lobby and food areas seem like they are part of the 70's in decor that it wasn't a day brightener to go to breakfast necessarily
-room had a red stain on carpet by side of bed...not sure what that was
-bathtub liner was cracked and a piece missing from the plastic
-they charge $1 a day to use the safe. Not sure why this just can't be part of the room cost. Seems trivial to me to charge this.
-couldn't figure out how to get shower to work until I called the front desk
-some parts of the hotel need remodeling. Main areas are dark, I believe still have paneling, some doors need to be painted. Overall impression of the hotel is that it is old.

Note: I did not look at the rooms in what appear to be the upgraded additions to the hotel, built like a log village. My review concerns the main hotel building.

Room Tip: Stick with 2nd floor if safety is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fountainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    26
    27
    23
    10
See reviews for
44
16
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
arnolds park
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a business trip and this was the only hotel with available rooms.
My room was on the 2nd floor and faced the pool. Unfortunately, the lock was removed from the door, but a sturdy bar was positioned to not allow the door to open. To me, this was still not a very reassuring safety feature. There were no other rooms to swap, either.
My coworkers air conditioning didn't work, but staff was quite prompt and had it replaced appropriately. It's not a bad hotel...just not the safest feeling

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsays85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the pool large and just the right temperature, nice spa, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The halls were clean, the breakfast area very clean and there was a good choice of food.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DaisyJaneIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was told this hotel was not a good one but decided to give it a try since family was staying there. I was pleasantly surprise. Rooms were clean, staff friendly and accomadating. The only thing that I had an issue with was the breakfast ran out of food and some of it was dried out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

PROS:
4 adults, 2 queen size beds, 1 night, $99.95 including tax. thought that was a far price. bed was comfortable.
CONS:
if your looking for a cheap place to stay and don't care about the quality or your safety in the place then this is the place to stay. don't let the pictures on there web site fool you, because it doesn't reflect the way it really is. the water from the tap in the room was really salty and was not cold and you couldn't drink it. the lock on the bathroom door was broke off. while watching t.v. it went out and they said shut it off and unplug it for 5 minutes and then turn it back on, really?? we got a smoking room and there was no ash tray. i called the front desk and they said they didn't have any. no vents in the room to filter out the smoke. there is no locks on the exterior doors so anyone could walk in the back entrances. check out at noon and they were vacuuming at 8 a,m, while i was trying to sleep. bathroom shower was dirty, the web site said heated pool but the water coming out of the faucet was warmer and that was suppose to be cold. rod iron railing around the pool area was a nice look except where it was broke and taped together with white tape. unfortunately this was the only place i could book, so i didn't have any other option I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pokerjunkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Dodge hotels

Badger, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our expierance was excellent. Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were nice. Enjoyed the pool area and attached resturaut. Price was very reasonable and offered military discount. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Micheal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are on a budget, I would check out the newer Super 8 over this motel. Very much in need of renovation! We had a poolside room that looked like it had never been updated. We have eaten here twice and both times our drinks had black crap coming from the ice. Makes me nervous about the food! I do no recommend this to anyone unless you can get an updated room. The smell right upon arrival made me want to turn around. The girl working the desk was rude. There was a bug in the bathroom. Overall, I would never return.

Room Tip: Get an updated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kapmom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Dodge hotels
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Fort Dodge
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Dodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
#1 of 12 in Fort Dodge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn Fort Dodge
Quality Inn Fort Dodge
#7 of 12 in Fort Dodge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#4 of 12 in Fort Dodge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Starlite Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Starlite Village

Property: BEST WESTERN Starlite Village
Address: 1518 3rd Avenue NW, Junction Hwys 169 & 7, Fort Dodge, IA 50501-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Fort Dodge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Starlite Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Starlite Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Starlite Village Hotel Fort Dodge
Best Western Fort Dodge
Fort Dodge Best Western
BEST WESTERN Starlite Village Fort Dodge, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing