We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Starlite Village
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Fort Dodge
arnolds park
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a business trip and this was the only hotel with available rooms.
My room was on the 2nd floor and faced the pool. Unfortunately, the lock was removed from the door, but a sturdy bar was positioned to not allow the door to open. To me, this was still not a very reassuring safety feature. There were no other rooms to swap, either.
My coworkers air conditioning didn't work, but staff was quite prompt and had it replaced appropriately. It's not a bad hotel...just not the safest feeling

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsays85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    28
    24
    10
See reviews for
47
16
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, the pool large and just the right temperature, nice spa, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The halls were clean, the breakfast area very clean and there was a good choice of food.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DaisyJaneIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was told this hotel was not a good one but decided to give it a try since family was staying there. I was pleasantly surprise. Rooms were clean, staff friendly and accomadating. The only thing that I had an issue with was the breakfast ran out of food and some of it was dried out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

PROS:
4 adults, 2 queen size beds, 1 night, $99.95 including tax. thought that was a far price. bed was comfortable.
CONS:
if your looking for a cheap place to stay and don't care about the quality or your safety in the place then this is the place to stay. don't let the pictures on there web site fool you, because it doesn't reflect the way it really is. the water from the tap in the room was really salty and was not cold and you couldn't drink it. the lock on the bathroom door was broke off. while watching t.v. it went out and they said shut it off and unplug it for 5 minutes and then turn it back on, really?? we got a smoking room and there was no ash tray. i called the front desk and they said they didn't have any. no vents in the room to filter out the smoke. there is no locks on the exterior doors so anyone could walk in the back entrances. check out at noon and they were vacuuming at 8 a,m, while i was trying to sleep. bathroom shower was dirty, the web site said heated pool but the water coming out of the faucet was warmer and that was suppose to be cold. rod iron railing around the pool area was a nice look except where it was broke and taped together with white tape. unfortunately this was the only place i could book, so i didn't have any other option I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE!!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pokerjunkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Dodge hotels

Badger, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our expierance was excellent. Staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were nice. Enjoyed the pool area and attached resturaut. Price was very reasonable and offered military discount. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Micheal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you are on a budget, I would check out the newer Super 8 over this motel. Very much in need of renovation! We had a poolside room that looked like it had never been updated. We have eaten here twice and both times our drinks had black crap coming from the ice. Makes me nervous about the food! I do no recommend this to anyone unless you can get an updated room. The smell right upon arrival made me want to turn around. The girl working the desk was rude. There was a bug in the bathroom. Overall, I would never return.

Room Tip: Get an updated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapmom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

First off the thing that hits you is the smell I am no smoker and the minute I walked into the hall where my room was all you could smell is old smoke and moldy smell.
The room was ok , bedding was clean , bathroom was clean last day I was there I never got replacement cups in bathroom or desk , they never dumped the water from my ice bucket.
beware the biggest problem no locks on the outside doors anyway could walk in and I watched people from the trailer park behind the hotel walk in the side door to go to the soda machines and then wonder around the halls , not good when the cleaning staff has room doors open when cleaning I have never been in hotel with no locks on the out side doors . Breakfast was a joke , same old cut fruit all week , 2 yogurts in the cold box that was not cold

Room Tip: If your used to having a more professional run hotel go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Dodge hotels
2.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Fort Dodge
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge
4.7 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
#1 of 11 in Fort Dodge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Dodge
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites Fort Dodge
4.8 mi away
Super 8 Fort Dodge IA
Super 8 Fort Dodge IA
#4 of 11 in Fort Dodge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Starlite Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Starlite Village

Property: Best Western Starlite Village
Address: 1518 3rd Ave NW, Junction Hwys 169 & 7, Fort Dodge, IA 50501-2202 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Starlite Village)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Fort Dodge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Starlite Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Starlite Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Starlite Village Hotel Fort Dodge
Best Western Fort Dodge
Fort Dodge Best Western
Best Western Starlite Village Fort Dodge, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing