We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Starlite Village
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Sigourney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Fall of 2011 my family stayed at this hotel. My 4 year old grandson was walking up the steps to get to the 2nd floor and fell down the top stairwell which is about 4 ft. onto concrete. Ended up getting a concusion. The hotel did pay for his medical bills, but has not fixed the railing of the stairway. It was up to code but he still fell through. VERY dissapointed that they did not fix the railing. Will NOT ever go back there again. And I would advise anyone with children to do the same. Plus the pool was gross. It smelled and was cloudy.

Room Tip: If you have kids DON'T stay on the 2nd floor. There are no elevators don't take the steps on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dccbmonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    28
    23
    10
See reviews for
46
16
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This is the closest hotel to downtown.We went to eat at Tom Thumb,which is connected to Dairy Queen.I loved Tom Thumb .It appears to be a favorite of locals.They offer homemade type food at good prices.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

When we arrived, they asked us if we wanted to be inside the hotel bldg or around the outside of the hotel where u can pull up. My husband & I both said pull up on 1st floor would be great. She gave us a diagram of where we will be staying & when we pulled up, it looked like a little cabin. sooo cute! when we walked in, there was a living area, with a flat screen, recliner, couch & coffee table. On the right hand side, there was a huge king size bed & another 27" old school tv. if you continue walking in, there is a desk to do work on the laptop & then a mini kitchen which has a pretty good size fridge(not mini) microwave, sink, & a coffee pot. then a walk in closet, the bathroom was huge with a walkin shower..Loved it & the breakfast had eggs, biscuits, gravy, one day ham & next was sausage, coffee, doughnuts, etc! it was great!!! Our front desk lady was very nice & polite when we arrived but the 1st shift front desk man was extremely rude & didn't want to communicate with anyone. not much of a customer service person :( other than that, great service!

Room Tip: choose a cabin style room, they are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candler, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The room itself was ok. New linens and furniture. They seem to be trying. The pool area needs work and our room smelled of mildew. I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sensorydeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Dodge hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We were very pleased with the large suites (two full-size rooms)! Exterior and interior in a woods cabin style. Each room was appointed with faux stickely furniture, two tv's (one for the kids, one for the adults). Large bathroom, walk-in shower, kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave, sink). About 150% the size of most average suites. Breakfast was Ok (need to change it up on different days a little). Pool large, but shallow. Staff very helpful. Restaurant good, but many good local restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the single story rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaseballFamilyIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storm Lake, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2011

For as old as the place is, it was nice. It was clean and the staff was friendly. We ate dinner at the resteraunt, it was as good. The price was okay, but maybe could have been a little cheaper. The pool is big and nice, the hot tub was clean and perfect temp. However, they might want to have someone watching the hot tub. A lot of un-supervised children were in there on various occasions.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Cracked headboard, no electrical plate over outlet, and outdated decor made this place feel rundown. There was a huge gap to the outdoors along one side of the heating/cooling unit that created a cold draft in December. This place just needs some maintenance and updating to bring it back to what they think the room is worth.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Dodge hotels
2.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Fort Dodge
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge
4.7 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
#1 of 11 in Fort Dodge
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fort Dodge
2.4 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites Fort Dodge
4.8 mi away
Super 8 Fort Dodge IA
Super 8 Fort Dodge IA
#4 of 11 in Fort Dodge
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Starlite Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Starlite Village

Property: BEST WESTERN Starlite Village
Address: 1518 3rd Avenue NW, Junction Hwys 169 & 7, Fort Dodge, IA 50501-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Fort Dodge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Starlite Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Best Western and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Starlite Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Starlite Village Hotel Fort Dodge
Best Western Fort Dodge
Fort Dodge Best Western
BEST WESTERN Starlite Village Fort Dodge, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing