We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice factory tour!”

Winnebego Industries Factory Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stewartsville, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice factory tour!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

On the plus side I saw and learned a lot about how an RV is made. On the down side I didn't get to see enough, but I understand the risks involved, plus they are working during the tour. They only give the tours twice a day so make sure you plan accordingly. If you like seeing how things are made I highly recommend this tour. Plus it's free!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Country_Traveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Interesting, fun and informative”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This was a very good plant tour. We asked a lot of questions and got good responses from the tour guide. Our motor coach was being serviced here and we stayed across the street at The Lodge. My wife’s sister and husband went with us to see how they were built and don’t even own a motorhome. They thoroughly enjoyed the tour along with us. I’d say, “Don’t miss the factory tour if you’re ever in the area”.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank seasideNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Motorhome factory tour”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

A great tour to see how motorhomes are constructed. Very educational and informative about the Winnebago Motorhome Industry.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank MARCIA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour of how the industry-leading RV's are built”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I grew up about 40 minutes from this factory but had never been on the tour until now. We were in Iowa with our 4 and 6 year old boy's, and since it was so close to her home, we also brought along my Mom for this tour.

The factory tour is free and you get to see quite a bit of the process of how RV's are built. First you watch a video of the entire process, which includes some areas of the plant that aren't part of the public tour. Then you head into a bus (Winnebago-built, of course) to view various parts of the process of building an RV. Winnebago makes pretty much every part of their RV's other than the engine and chassis, so there is plenty going on. The first stop was the "soft goods" area where cushions, curtains, carpet, etc. is cut up, sewn, and constructed. Later stops include the chassis preparation area (as noted above, the chassis themselves are sourced from other vendors such as Freightliner and Mercedes, but need to be modified as part of the assembly), and several stops at the huge "Big Bertha" building where most of the assembly takes place, from creating the foam-and-steel exterior shell to putting it all together. At the visitors center are numerous RV's that you can walk through and see the final products.

It was a very interesting tour, and both my 80+ Mom and small children all enjoyed it. We're not "RV-ers" but it was still very cool. If you enjoy factory tours this is a must-stop.

Note that there are some stairs as part of the tour, as you climb up onto "catwalks" overlooking the various assembly buildings.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Rehcsif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winnebego Industries Factory Tour also viewed

 

Been to Winnebego Industries Factory Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing