We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & Outdated, this is one tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lodge Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Forest City
Reviewed May 28, 2011

The Lodge, you think: pine trees, loons and maybe log furniture. No, not here - it's scuzzy furniture and flowered wall paper circa 1980. We had a two room "suite", furniture all needs to go to the burn pile. The bed was equipped with some kind of latex or rubber sheet that crackled when you rolled over. The housekeeping was fair at best. Lower your expectations if you want to stay here - better yet, there is a brand new Holiday Inn Express in Mason City. Until The Lodge updates, stay away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
servicestar, Owner at The Lodge Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2011

Yes... old and quaint but clean, spacious, restful, and off the highway. We are not a Holiday Inn Express. We are a Lodge located in a wooded area 1/8 mile off the highway. This is a good place to relax and get a good nights rest or spend a few days of "staycation". Those seeking a big city hotel experience may not be happy here. On the other hand you may be pleasantly surprised as are many who visit the Lodge for the first time. Most people who have discovered the Lodge stay here are very happy and choose the Lodge over other alternatives. Our greatest reward and satisfaction as Lodge owners are the comfort and joy that we see in the faces and hear in the comments of so very many, many of our customers. We love you all but can't be all things to all people. Again... we are an old, quaint hotel in the woods. Come and enjoy the quiet atmosphere, wooded paths, and good food at very reasonable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 100 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

The Lodge offers an affordable comfortable relaxed atmosphere with nice sized clean rooms and friendly staff. The service is prompt and accommodating to travels needs. Better price and better service than budget hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonbon524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Our family wanted to vacation at a resort with cross-country skiing. We searched the internet for a 200 mile radius and found the best option right here!

The hotel is rustic and charming, everything one expects with a lodge. We could see the ski trails from the breakfast area, hallways, and our suite. The price was unbelievable.

The kids enjoyed the pool table and soccer foosball in the game room. We enjoyed hot cocoa and tea by the fire. Continental breakfast included fresh fruit, toast, cereal, eggs and beverage.

The trails are groomed for skate and cross-country skiing. Peaceful trails run along the river and golf course for at least 5 kilometers. Kids age 6 and up can handle the few hills thanks to quality groomed tracks.

No restaurant on site at this time, but there is a great variety of choices in the surrounding community.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prairieflower_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I went their for work and I fell in love with the Lodge. I thought the staff was great very inviting and the owner was on site to great me with a cup of coffee. This place has a great view that you would not see from a chain hotel. What makes this place very nice and special it is not a chain hotel it is people that live in the area. I saw the rooms and they were very nice and clean. I can not wait to take my wife up there for a nice weekend away.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bstepan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We, by chance, had the good fortune to spend the night at The Lodge of Forest City. We were struck by it's charm and it's beautiful wooded setting. We were impressed with the friendliness of our host and we were just a chip shot away from a gem of a golf course. Well worth the stay, this place deserves to be on your get-away radar.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buck50huxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

The location is directly across the street from the Winnebago Visitors Center and on the Winnebago River. Although the exterior has a lodge look, our room was decorated in a traditional style with upscale furniture. We had cable TV, wireless internet, comfortable bed and a beautifull bathroom with big whirlpool and classy out of the ordinary tile. We also had a screened porch with comfortable lounge chairs which overlooked the river (flooding at the time) in the woods. The birds singing in the morning added to the charm. In searching for places to stay in this area, I stumbled across this place and am so glad I did. We look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest City
15.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
15.5 mi away
Best Western Holiday Lodge
Best Western Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Forest City
Super 8 Forest City
#1 of 2 in Forest City
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Resort Hotel

Address: 945 Highway 69 S, Forest City, IA 50436-2100 (Formerly The Lodge Resort Knights Inn Hotel)
Location: United States > Iowa > Forest City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Forest City
Price Range: $70 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge Resort Hotel and Riverview Restaurant are located on 17 beautiful wooded acres adjacent to the Bear Creek Golf course and Winnebago River. In addition to golfing, other recreational activities including canoeing, cross-country skiing, hiking, bird-watching and fishing are popular on-site activities. The hiking trails are paved. There is a children's playground park within walking distance. We are located close to downtown, close to Waldorf College and close to Winnebago Industries. Free long distance phone, free parking, free high speed Wi-Fi and premium cable TV are provided. There is an on-site restaurant and free continental breakfast. Limited "pet friendly" rooms. Please call to verify availability. Ask about our Open Water Fishing trips YMCA Day passes are available to our guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge Resort Hotel Forest City, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing