We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and Increasingly Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Fairfield Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Fairfield
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We've stayed at this property on several recent trips to Fairfield and I'm forced to concur in all the negative assessments. The facility is dated. The rooms are dingy, worn and frequently smell of smoke or stale air. The tattooed and poorly dressed staff are all too frequently outside catching a smoke by the abandoned grocery store next door. Despite the price point, don't expect the food at Kokomo's (the affiliated restaurant) to be anything other than what's available from the local Sysco distributor. This may not be rural Appalachia, but you can certainly see it from here.

Room Tip: Be sure to request an exterior room. The interior rooms with a view of the pool are extremely dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternGM57, General Manager at Best Western Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

I apologize for the actions and appearance of my staff. As of June of this year all staff is in new uniforms. We are constantly working to improve guest experience at the Best Western Fairfield Inn. Currently we are working with our design team to improve our rooms further, with in the next year we will be replacing all vanities on property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed here on business in June 2011. During check-in, the front desk staff was friendly and efficient. I had one of the rooms on the second floor on the side opposite the pool, so I did not have the issues with noise mentioned by some of the other reviewers. The bathroom seemed to have recent updates and the tub and other fixtures appeared to be new. The bedroom seemed to be in need of a remodel. The carpets were worn and the mattress was not especially comfortable.

The hotel is next to a supermarket and not far down the road from several restaurants in the center of Fairfield, so overall it was a good location. Breakfast is included with the stay and includes cereal and some other continental breakfast items (pastries, cereal bars, etc.). There are some hot items such as eggs also. If you like strong coffee as I do, you'll probably be a bit disappointed with theirs.

One concern I had before my stay was that the hotel did not have a fitness center. It wasn't entirely clear from the hotel's website, but they provide free passes for guests to go to the Roosevelt Recreation Center, which has a well-equipped gym (without the pass, it is $5 for a one-day guest pass at the Rec Center). The Rec Center is not very easy to find when driving from the Best Western... exit the parking lot and take a right onto West Burlington. Drive about a mile and look for a 4 story building on the right hand side that looks like a school (it used to be one). The entrance is on the right side of the building.

Overall, given the low rate and the limited availability of other options in the area, I don't have many complaints and would stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are accessed by a staircase. May want to consider this if you're traveling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TLMurphy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternGM57, General Manager at Best Western Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

New carpeting and beds was a needed upgrade for the porperty as a result early this year we replaced all the beds on property as well as updated flooring in 34 or our guest rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I had reservations to stay in the Fairfield Best Western but when I saw the room I decided to stay in a hotel in Owattana 20 miles away. The room was worn out, very dark facing the pool and over all too depressing to consider staying in.

I was able to find a room there in a newer well kept hotel for $70. the Best Western rate was $75!

The front desk clerk however was friendly and efficient.

Management really needs to remodel this place!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MJB0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWesternGM57, General Manager at Best Western Fairfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Our mission at the Best Western Fairfield Inn is to continually improve our facilities and guest experience. Most recently our bedding, drapery, and furniture in all of our guest rooms have been replaced. The pool area renovation was recently completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We were in Fairfield for a weekend event and picked the Best Western because of the location. It was a short drive downtown. The hotel was fine, clean and well maintained, but nothing special. I would not recommend using the hot tub or pool, they seemed dirty when we stopped by. The bathroom was clean and the bathtub was huge, but the lack of an exhaust fan made everything seem humid after showering. The breakfast had many different options, but the staff seemed a little overwhelmed keeping up with the buffet. Overall, we'd stay again, it was a good deal, and we had no problems with it. The bar made some delicious drinks also.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DairyQueenWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We were attending a workshop in downtown Fairfield and chose the Best Western. It's literally about five minutes from the town square and next door to a big grocery store, so excellent location. But the rooms were average -- clean, newer sheets, but the carpet was worn. Renovated bath, nice enclosure, but no fan, so the humidity built up in the room ; in fact everything felt damp the whole time we were there despite the A/C. Nice Wifi! Average hotel free breakfast; they ran out of things a few times but filled them up quickly; nothing was bad, but nothing more than run of the mill, either. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I had a quiet good nights rest. There was a small refrigerator and microwave in the room which was a nice surprise. I did not explore the pool area. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I stayed here to take care of some family business. The kids liked the pool. However there were bugs floating in it all over. The "Hot Tub" was NOT Hot. They offer free breakfast.. which -since they have a kitchen there, was a little skimpy. We ate at Kokomos for dinner and were very disappointed. The waitress was extremely slow. It took almost 40 minutes for our burgers. Definitely not worth the price. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen2697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
1.9 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Fairfield
2.5 mi away
Rukmapura Park Hotel
Rukmapura Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Fairfield
11 reviews
23.5 mi away
Best Western Mt. Pleasant Inn
Best Western Mt. Pleasant Inn
#3 of 5 in Mount Pleasant
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mount Pleasant
1.2 mi away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#6 of 6 in Fairfield
16 reviews
22.3 mi away
AmericInn Ottumwa
AmericInn Ottumwa
#2 of 7 in Ottumwa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Fairfield Inn

Address: 2200 West Burlington Avenue, Fairfield, IA 52556-2634
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Fairfield
Price Range: $94 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Fairfield Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Fairfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Best Western
Fairfield Fairfield Inn
Best Western Fairfield Inn Iowa
Fairfield Inn Fairfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing