We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town work”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Estherville Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Estherville
Ham Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of town work”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our workers had work in Esterville. They said that the operators/managers of this hotel were fantastic! They fully reccomend it as the best place to stay for miles! The hotel and rooms were very clean as well. Breakfast was well above average for this type range of hotel. If you are in this area, there is no other choice; go to this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep108, General Manager at Estherville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your employee's stay with us. Our housekeepers and front desk staff strive to make every person's stay with us pleasurable. We always look forward to repeat visitors but like to encourage new visitors as well.
Thank you for your comments - it encourages my employees that people notice all that they do in the course of a day. Come back again when you are in town and receive the same great service as well as a smile from us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
2
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We often travel with our 2 German Shepherds, and this was by far the best motel we've stayed in. The rooms were large, comfortable, and very quiet. The breakfast was exceptional with sausages, gravy and biscuits, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, waffles, eggs, and danish. Free newspapers, too! It's always nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room.

The staff was exceptionally friendly and even gave doggie bags with treats for our dogs. This motel is top-notch. We found it a very convenient location for going into Lake Okoboji, Spirit Lake, and Arnold's Park without the traffic and busyness of those places.

It was also a quiet town to walk the dogs in the evening.

We changed our travel plans to stay here another night. It's the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew and Oliv... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep108, General Manager at Estherville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are glad that you and your furry friends enjoyed staying with us! We enjoyed meeting and getting to know all of you during your visit. Your two beauties were very well behaved and had hearts of gold - they actually deserved a gift bag every day of their stay!
When we talk to people on the phone regarding our hotel we do mention that the rooms are spacious and that our free deluxe continental breakfast has many items to choose from. We also like to mention that we are only fifteen miles from thelakes area without all of the hectic crowds.
We look forward to serving you again in the future. And please bring your furry friends too. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was a one-night stop-over on the way to South Dakota. The staff was friendly, and the room and bathroom weere clean. Room had a nice desk with plugs for laptops, etc. If you're on the first floor, you may get some unruly patrons on the second floor who don't know how to tread lightly on the floor above you, but that's common in most places nowadays.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room, if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep108, General Manager at Estherville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share information about your stay with us. Our housekeeping staff works hard to make sure that the rooms are clean and fresh for our guests and I know that they appreciate the work being noticed. I am sorry that there were guests above your room that disturbed your stay. We do try to assign rooms according to the needs of guests and will gladly put guests on the 2nd or 3rd floor if requested and if the room type is available.
We hope that when you are traveling through Iowa that we can look forward to your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I had to make a sudden trip to Estherville, Iowa last week to attend the funeral of a very, very dear person in my life. At first there were no rooms in this town, then we found out we could book under "bereavement rooms". This motel is free of bedbugs, the people working there are very, very nice indeed, the rooms were well kept and more than adequate. The breakfast was an additional perk and very much appreciated. Noise kept to a minimum. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat though hopefully on a happier occasion.

Room Tip: Now-a-days, ALWAYS check ahead whenever possible to check on bedbugs in ANY motel/hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintPaul_MNScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep108, General Manager at Estherville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review! The staff here truly care about our guests and I am glad to hear that they helped you during this sad occasion. We look forward to serving you in the future - and hope that your visit here is for a more pleasant occasion, maybe a family reunion? Whatever brings you here, we will be here to serve you and strive to make your stay pleasant. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We just stayed at the Sleep Inn while in town for a family wedding. We were extremely pleased with this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. The rooms are nicely sized and seemed pretty quiet. I didn't hear any hallway noise at all. Our family really enjoyed the warm pool. It was a nice size and the temperature was awesome...great for our little ones. Our last compliment goes to the staff. They worked very hard to have everything done for our party. The housekeeping staff was very very friendly and the front desk accomodating with everything. This property really goes above and beyond!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleep108, General Manager at Estherville Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for all of your nice compliments. All of the staff here strive to make this hotel a "home away from home" for our guests which is why we treat our guests as if they are family. We are pleased that your family wedding weekend went well and we invite you to come back for the first anniversary (if not sooner)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I arrived late at night, and service was good. However, the hotel is old and they attempted to mask mustiness or some other smell with orange air freshner. I am not very sensitive to terrible smells, but this smell was overpowering and almost caused me to pass out and vomit (not in that order). The room was outdated, with the same smell. The bed was worthy of Motel 6. NOT impressed, but considering the other places in town...Over priced as well.

Room Tip: Try not to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Segalini09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

We were very impressed with this property. We found it to be comfortable, clean and in good repair. The staff were very nice and made our stay enjoyable. We look forward to our next visit to this area. Although we were working in Spencer and Spirit Lake, and had very early starts, leaving the motel at 3:30am to get to work on time, we stayed here. We have found it to be the best property in the area. I would rather drive and extra hour a day and stay somewhere clean and nice than stay in a dirty motel that is closer.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curtishardy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Estherville
15.8 mi away
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
Ramada Spirit Lake/Okoboji
#1 of 5 in Spirit Lake
209 reviews
16.7 mi away
Inn at Okoboji
Inn at Okoboji
#6 of 6 in Okoboji
111 reviews
20.9 mi away
Super 8 Emmetsburg
Super 8 Emmetsburg
#1 of 3 in Emmetsburg
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Jackson
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Estherville
Super 8 Estherville
#1 of 3 in Estherville
95 reviews
15.8 mi away
Vintage Block Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estherville Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estherville Hotel & Suites

Property: Estherville Hotel & Suites
Address: 2008 Central Ave, Estherville, IA 51334-2774 (Formerly Sleep Inn Estherville)
Location: United States > Iowa > Estherville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Estherville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Estherville Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is merely nine years old and is located on the east end of Estherville. All of our rooms are very spacious with a large desk and busines chair. In addition to the usual amenities each of our rooms has a refrigerator and an in-room safe. If you need more space we also have suites available with a pullout couch and coffee table. And speaking of suites you can rent a whirlpool suite! Don’t forget that our FREE deluxe continental breakfast is ready every morning at 5:00 am and serves until 9:30 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Estherville Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Estherville
Estherville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing