We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Tasting at Little Swan Lake Winery”

Little Swan Lake Winery
Attraction details
Keystone
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting at Little Swan Lake Winery”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Saturday morning we left Estherville and took a drive west on Hwy. 9. At Superior, we found the road to Little Swan Lake Winery. We drove north on a scenic route that took us to Little Swan Lake where we turned around and went back to the lane that led to the winery. When we entered the winery, a converted barn or out building, we were greeted by two ladies who immediately made us feel welcome. After looking around at the displays of merchandise, we moved over to the "bar" where we proceeded to sample several wines. Not only does the lady with the Australian accent (Sorry that I don't remember her name) know her wines, but she also has a wealth of information on using the wines in cooking and on pairing them with a variety of foods. We were entertained with a sample of the beautiful voice of our Aussie wine presenter and were disappointed that we were not able to return on Sunday for the bison dinner and entertainment. Our intention had been to sample wine and buy a couple of bottles. But we found so many of the wines to our liking that we came home with a box of different wines. We look forward to enjoying them and sharing them when we entertain. Each time we open a bottle it will "take us back" to the Little Swan Lake Winery and we will remember the pleasant time we experienced that Saturday morning. Cheers!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just a fun place on a Thursday Night”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I look forward to visit and enjoy an unusual evening each year on our vacation. First, you wine taste some different and great wine. I love the blue bottled wine. Then you go into the barn and listen to Bobby as she entertains you. She is fabulous. Where can you go, that has a lovely lake, buffalo roaming, cold wine, munchies and wonderful music all in one. What a perfect evening!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeokoboji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great winery and bed and breakfast”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Little Swan Lake Winery and Bed and Breakfast. The winery is in an old barn and the bedrooms are in an attached grain elevator that has been remodel and is very nice. We had the Buffalo room - top floor and had great views off the attached deck. The bed was comfortable, as was the wooden soaker tub. The breakfast, three courses, was delicious. The wine is good and there was music in the winery the evening we stayed. Scott and Diane are great host and Diane is a superb cook. They also raise buffalos, which can be viewed from the winery and the bed and breakfast area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Spot with Plenty of Character(s)!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While visiting my daughter working her summer job at Camp Foster YMCA nearby we decided to check out the local winery. What a pleasant surprise! The owners (Scott and Diane) are a great couple passionate about their hobby turned into a great business. not only are the wines terrific, they also have a buffalo herd outside that they raise (which they have processed into some terrific sausage) and finally a great bed and breakfast...oh yeah I almost forgot about the Aussie entertainment they have on staff who sings a few times a week and the balance entertains guests with her great sense of humor.

Finally if you are a graduate or student of the University of Northern Iowa you can learn the UNI fight song or join in if you know it! ...ask Diane not Scott to help!

We loved it and hope to get back with my wife soon!

P.S. my wife and I drank the bottle of Zinfandel 2007 (Scott's special barrel!) when i returned home and it was terrific!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank IowaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Great Destination Venue!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Winery is a short drive from the Iowa Great Lakes, and not what one would expect. Yes, the vines are visable from the dirt(sometimes very rutty) road, but also many buffalo are roaming the hillsides near Little Swan Lake! (I didn't see any swans.) The business is located in a large red barn complete with a silo, which is a bed-and-breakast. Every Thursday evening(6-8) is a great Happy Hour with free entertainment and appetizers(a jar for "tips" is nearby), and of course wine for purchase($1 off per bottle). The Tasting Room has every wine offered for sampling - you can try each one if you want(not recommended!) . Your selection(s) are uncorked and come with glasses. There are many wine-related items for sale in the Room too. The barn has a small stage for "Awesome Aussie" singer Billie James, a talented lady. Seating in the rustic room is limited, so reservations are needed. There are other musical entertainers on other days, including Sunday afternoons where a complete buffalo meal is served at 5PM. The proprietors(Scott and Diane Benjamin) raise their own bison; the meat is also available to buy. LSLW is really a great place to relax and have a really fun experience!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarasota_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Swan Lake Winery also viewed

 

Been to Little Swan Lake Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing