We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Rose Casino and Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Emmetsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Rose Casino and Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Emmetsburg
Cherokee, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Before going to the Wild Rose Casino Hotel in Emmetsburg, Ia I read the reviews on here. After staying at the hotel I cannot believe what I read on here. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel only had smoking rooms left but I was put on a list for a non-smoking room if one came available. What a nice surprise to have a non-smoking room when we arrived. And the room did not smell like smoke. Yes, the lobby smelled of some smoke, but be real, it's connected to a smoking casino. The bed sheets were soft and comfortable, not itchy as one person stated. The room was very, very clean and neat. The towels were not terribly thick but were sufficient and worked just fine. Someone complained that the tv didn't have doors....so what??? Does that really matter?? And the best complaint was that the toilet didn't have a lid!!! The toilet was not designed to have a lid and that didn't bother me at all. Climate control in the room was easy to use and worked well. We met the cleaning lady in the hallway and she was very friendly. There was absolutely NOTHING wrong with this stay, very enjoyable and the important part... to have a comfortable, clean room was a definite plus. We also enjoyed all the choices of food at the casino. There was no swimming pool, but hey, what were we there for??? To go to a concert (which was fantastic) and to play in the casino. Take the kids to a water park, not a casino!!! The Wild Rose was a perfect get away and our hotel stay was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bev_E5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
14
28
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calumet, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

On my third stay here, I still have to say the Wild Rose is a clean, comfortable barebones place. Most everything seems modern and in good condition. It is a pretty clean place (and I'm picky about being clean). The pool is closed and breakfast is served for a short period at an inconvenient time...even the front desk will tell you that many of their customers are gone in the mornings before breakfast is served. Speaking of the front desk staff, they seem a little slow, it takes an excessively long time to get checked in. This seems to be the best value for your dollar in Emmetsburg. Also, truck parking is available, which is a plus for some customers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighTech_Redneck87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have stayed here the apst 2 years. the price is great, but they need to improve the linen and towels. Bath towels were the size of two hand towels, thin, and rough. The sheets were clean but not soft. A room with 2 beds was a queen and a double pushed up against the wall with no backboard. The pool has also closed, because of too many repairs. This is a fairly new place, how could the contractor mess up a pool ??? I question the quality of workmanship of the hotel/casino. Since opening, the hotel has not kept up their standards. Just a few tweeks here and there and the hotel would be fine. Also the casino has taken away tables and added more machines.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimballton, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Absolutely one of the worst experiences I have ever had! Check in was at 3pm yet our room was not available until 4pm causing my husband and I to be late for a dinner party. Our non smoking room reaked of smoke and the bedding was very itchy. The food was mediocre at best. All could have been redeemed on the casino floor yet after having 3 light beers, I was told I was not allowed to drink anymore(10pm on a Saturday night) and was told rudely to leave the casino.

The overall atmosphere of the casino was very hostile with more security than actual customers. They seemed to enjoy going out of their way to ruin the night for everyone. Stomping around, throwing their weight and work status in people faces. They were extremely rude! I saw many people being kicked out of the casino that weren't even being loud or "acting intoxicated". Do not go here if you have any intention of having fun!

I was refused explanations and apologies. Nothing was offered to make up for my issues as well, there was no manager there throughout the weekend to direct my complaints.

I will NEVER go back nor will i ever refer this place to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank aamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Emmetsburg hotels

Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

The pool and hot tub permanently closed. The lobby, and even nonsmoking rooms smelled like a bar, when smoking was allowed. The sink was clogged, the shower was luke warm, and the towels were so thin that the face towel was soaked from drying my face. The walls were thin, and the place was very noisy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CedarFalls_IowaJk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottertail, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

The staff was excellent, friendly, accommodating and treated me very graciously. The entire complex was very clean and well kept. The food at the buffet was wonderful. I can't wait to get back. These people make "Minnesota Nice" look like a joke.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

I have stayed at 2 of the 3 hotel locations in Emmetsburg. I would recommend the Wild Rose over the other location. The prices are a lot cheaper through the week, and if you get a free players club card from the casino, you also get a discount at the hotel. There is a full breakfast that is free in the am as well, but only for a limited time as it is buffet and lunch starts by 10 I think. I have actually stayed at the hotel 2 times now and would stay again! The rooms did not get cleaned with our 2 -day stay, but I was ok with that. They also have military discounts!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Iowa50536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emmetsburg
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Emmetsburg
Super 8 Emmetsburg
#1 of 3 in Emmetsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
23.1 mi away
Brookstone Lodge & Suites
21.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Algona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Estherville Hotel & Suites
Estherville Hotel & Suites
#2 of 3 in Estherville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Suburban Motel
22.0 mi away
Super 8 Algona
Super 8 Algona
#3 of 3 in Algona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Rose Casino and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Rose Casino and Resort

Property: Wild Rose Casino and Resort
Address: 777 Main St, Emmetsburg, IA 50536-1666
Location: United States > Iowa > Emmetsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Emmetsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by turn-of-the century Emmetsburg, Wild Rose Casino and Resort is a modern-day replica of the once-grand Waverly Hotel. Wild Rose Resort is your new home away from home. The friendly and exciting atmosphere includes 70 hotel rooms (63 standard and 7 suites), a business center and wireless internet. Our staff is committed to making your stay with us a stay that you will never forget. We greet you at the door with complimentary valet parking and welcome your morning with a complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wild Rose Hotel Emmetsburg
Wild Rose Casino And Resort Emmetsburg, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing