We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reservations Given Away to another party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tivoli Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Horn
Elk Horn, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reservations Given Away to another party”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We made reservations for a block of rooms this year for an event with the previous owner America Inns for a block of rooms in June of 2013. A new owner took over ownership last month. We contacted the new owners management at the motel and was assured the rooms were still reserved for our event in June of 2013. This week, we found out that these rooms that were verified with the new management had been given to a new party and no rooms were now available to us. Spoke with management in person and they now claim they had no contact with us verifying the reservation was okay with the new ownership and management.

Room Tip: Verify in person with onsite management that your rooms are actually booked correctly or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrokenArrow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    5
    4
    15
See reviews for
28
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here three nights and the motel was not very busy this time of year. The pool was great with big windows over looking the windmill and just the right temperature. The rooms are dated but fine and I think they will be needing new mattresses soon. The breakfast selection was very nice. It was not so cold that we needed to run the heater all night, otherwise that would have been a problem, it was typically noisy for an older unit. I think the construction is good as we had neighbors and i didn't hear anything through the walls.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieonwabash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Was surprised to find no fridge or microwave in the room, but it was no big deal. We had the accessible room with the walk in shower. Water flow was okay although the shower curtain didn't quite reach the floor and caused a little splashing outside of the stall. One downside to our room: it was adjacent to the hotel's service room and we could hear sounds through the wall when they did their large laundry loads.

Coffee was available in the lobby 24/7, and it was actually pretty good. There were also several choices of tea and hot chocolate. The cookies were delicious.

Breakfast wasn't exceptional but it was okay. There were pastries and muffins as well as a waffle maker. The pastry trays were not replenished as fast as I thought they should be (they went empty a few times). Must have been a busy morning.

The washer and dryer for guest use was a nice thing to have available, too, although I didn't use them because I did our laundry at a prior hotel.

The staff was friendly and accommodating and ready to help. We quite liked this inn and would stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a long review, so here’s the bottom line: this is a friendly, clean, quiet, and very comfortable place to stay in a charming town with great food and some nice attractions. Although it’s located about 5 miles off I-80, it’s absolutely worth the drive. I would definitely recommend to anyone traveling through Iowa to make this a planned destination stop for a night or two.

The details: We were on a 2-week road trip and booked places to stay based on an approximate mileage per day – I’d check TripAdvisor ratings for places in a couple of towns closest to my mileage target. When I saw the reviews for this hotel, they seemed suspiciously too good to be true, but the reviewers seemed real, and I booked it. We stayed at everything from cheap mom-and-pop motels to the Radisson in Duluth, and of all of them, this was our favorite. The bed was so comfortable and the room so cozy and quiet that I didn’t want to get out of bed in the morning, and wished we could have stayed another day to enjoy more of the town.

The hotel is located in the little town of Elk Horn, which is about 5 miles off I-80, but is well worth the extra few miles down a scenic byway. The parking lot contains a charging station for electric vehicles. The lobby area includes a cozy living room area where you can relax or socialize, and there are beverages (coffee, tea, hot cocoa) and fresh fruit available at all times. I think there were cookies, too, but I may be confusing that with a different place. On the other side of the lobby area is the breakfast area. The included breakfast was fairly typical of what was available at most of the places we stayed (make-your-own-waffles, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, breads, bagels and pastries, biscuits and gravy, etc.), plus yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, and apples and oranges. Some nice extras were Danish pastries from the Danish Inn, granola bars, and strawberries and whipped cream for the waffles.

There is an indoor swimming pool and large (12-person) spa. The pool temperature was not too cold, and the spa was nice and hot. Pool “noodles”, water wings, and some pool balls were available. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The bed was wonderful, and the linens (bed and bath) were of good quality. Not only was the location very quiet, but the great sound insulation of the hotel construction meant that we didn’t hear any sounds from neighboring rooms. The women working at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. In fact, everyone in the town was.

As for the town itself, it was worth the stop–do an Internet search for some interesting facts. There are a few attractions: The Danish windmill, the Danish Immigrant museum, and a winery that offers a tour. Since we arrived late in the afternoon, we didn’t have time for anything but the museum. (The hotel gave us a 2-for-1 admission coupon when we checked in.) The museum is not large, but it was interesting – particularly the basement with the enormous number of Danish artifacts–dishware, tools, shoes, etc. If we had not been on such a tight time schedule, I would have loved to stay late enough the next day to do the windmill and winery tours, as well as having a meal at the Danish Inn. You could probably see all of the sights in one afternoon, as long as you started in the early afternoon.

The Danish windmill is located right across the street from the hotel, and the Danish Inn is right next to that. There’s also an interesting sod house across the street. (The museum and winery are not far, but not in walking distance.) We didn’t go to the Danish Inn for dinner - they have a smorgasbord (buffet), as well as items available from the menu, but the people we talked to who did said it was exceptional. Instead, we walked down to Larsen’s Pub, which claims to be home of the #1 Pork Tenderloin sandwich in Iowa. The menu is definitely pub fare – mostly deep fried items and broasted chicken. I couldn’t resist trying the tenderloin sandwich. It was delicious (and huge – big enough for two). It was tender, juicy, and perfectly seasoned. I also had the deep-fried cauliflower as a side. It was amazing – even my husband loved it, and he’s not a cauliflower fan. He had fish, which he said was good. Note: this is a very small town, and the restaurants (these were the only 2 we saw) are closed between lunch and dinner. The winery has a gift shop in town, but it’s only open until 4pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zorbina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montara, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We come back to this hotel when we travel on Interstate 80. The staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good, the pool is well taken care of and you can not beat the town. What a gem. Always glad to return here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThreeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I've stayed here several times and will always go back to this hotel. I grew up in the area and come back for get-togethers with my family, as no one lives in the town anymore. Their 'living room' area is great for this. Nice comfortable couch and chairs, fireplace, flat screen tv, area to move around - great for our entire family to catch up with each other. Breakfast is always make-your-own waffles, biscuits and gravy, cereal, various breads, pastries, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt and two kinds of juice. I think my only complaint about the place is that the orange juice is watery. The price is good and the rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a pool, but we haven't used it. There is no elevator to get to the second floor, but I have no doubt that if the first floor was required because of a disability, they would place you there with no problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a very nice value motel. It met all the must for a pleasant stay, clean rooms and facilities, a comfortable bed, a clean and useable shower/tub, and a quiet and efficient heating and air conditioning system. In addition to the basics it had several other pluses.

Pluses
•A very friendly and helpful staff, not only friendly at check-in and check-out but also helpful to make sure you had what you need during the self-serve breakfast.
•A breakfast with hot food items. In addition to the usual rolls, toast, fruit, yogurt and cereal, they had two Belgium waffle makers and biscuits and gravy.
•Although not a coffee drinker it did seem that coffee was available throughout the day in the lobby.
•Convenient location, directly across the street from the Danish Windmill and restaurant, although you probably would want to drive to the Danish Museum if your visit includes that.
•A clean and inviting pool area, we weren’t there long enough to use it but it looked nice.

Only one potential minus, that being there was no elevator, although if mobility is an issue you could probably request a first floor room. Would not hesitate to stay here again if traveling through or visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crescoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Horn
13.6 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Atlantic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
14.9 mi away
Settle Inn & Suites Harlan
15.5 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites Avoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Super 8 Walnut
Super 8 Walnut
#1 of 1 in Walnut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
13.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Atlantic
9.1 mi away
Days Inn Atlantic
Days Inn Atlantic
#4 of 5 in Atlantic
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Inn & Suites

Property: Tivoli Inn & Suites
Address: 4037 Main St, Elk Horn, IA 51531-2103
Location: United States > Iowa > Elk Horn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Horn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tivoli Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Tivoli Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Inn & Suites Elk Horn, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing