We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tivoli Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Horn
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a very nice value motel. It met all the must for a pleasant stay, clean rooms and facilities, a comfortable bed, a clean and useable shower/tub, and a quiet and efficient heating and air conditioning system. In addition to the basics it had several other pluses.

Pluses
•A very friendly and helpful staff, not only friendly at check-in and check-out but also helpful to make sure you had what you need during the self-serve breakfast.
•A breakfast with hot food items. In addition to the usual rolls, toast, fruit, yogurt and cereal, they had two Belgium waffle makers and biscuits and gravy.
•Although not a coffee drinker it did seem that coffee was available throughout the day in the lobby.
•Convenient location, directly across the street from the Danish Windmill and restaurant, although you probably would want to drive to the Danish Museum if your visit includes that.
•A clean and inviting pool area, we weren’t there long enough to use it but it looked nice.

Only one potential minus, that being there was no elevator, although if mobility is an issue you could probably request a first floor room. Would not hesitate to stay here again if traveling through or visiting the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crescoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 59 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

We were in town for an event and this place was the only option that I saw that was anywhere close to convenient. I never even heard of this chain before. Luckily the price was good so we booked it for a 2 night stay. My first impression is that the place looked fairly new. We got there at night and the receptionist was very nice...getting greeted with a smile is always nice. The lobby was well decorated with a small business computer for guests off to the side and the breakfast area right off the lobby but not in a separate room. It was quiet and relaxing as we barely saw any other guests. The room was nice and clean and better than I thought. All basic room amenities were there. The pool area was pretty big and were were the only ones that we saw use it. They had some pool toys (balls, foam 'noodles') which was nice for the kids to play with. The whirlpool was okay..it could have been hotter. Breakfast was simple and what I expected for the price and star-level of the hotel. They had muffins, yogurt, cereal, etc...standard fare. My son and I were able to play catch on the big yard next to the hotel and there's a small park walking distance that is nice and quiet. Not much to eat at this town however the Dutch restaurant across the street rocked. Good home cooking which had a pretty good crowd in it. The fried chicken was memorable and the desserts were homemade and good as well. This whole town is several miles off the main freeway and it literally has no stop lights. But it was a nice quiet town...the locals actually wave to you when you're sitting on the main street. If you want to get away and have quiet, you'll like this place. You can walk the length of the main strip quickly. Back to the hotel, we'll stay here again if we come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed in Elk Horn due to hotels being booked in Atlantic, Iowa. The hotel was very clean. There are two floors and no elevator. The pool was out of service while we were there. The breakfast consisted of biscuits and gravy, cereals and waffles.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamabear&twins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We were diverted from original plan of staying in Council Bluffs because of the flooding. I was nervous to go 5
Miles off I-80 but was pleasantly surprised when we pulled in. Hotel was very clean, staff was friendly, and towels were very soft. Town is charming and The Danish Inn one block away had great food. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilltoppermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We have no complaints on this motel. It is about 7 miles north of I 80.
It was clean & quiet. Had a decent breakfast.
We walked to their very small town, alot of closed stores.
We stopped in a bar/restaurant for a beer. Very friendly owners.
Had a buffet dinner down the block from the bar. Was ok.
It's supposedly a Danish town. Didn't find much Danish about it.
Would stay again if in the area.
We paid $79.99 plus $8.00 tax.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetypie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Nice place to stay while visiting the Danish Immigrant Museum and the Windmill just across the street, Hotel was very clean and had a nice breakfast. Found the employees very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmelsands967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Hotels between Council Bluffs and Des Moines leave something to be desired. Mom and Pop shops, English optional, that seem run down and get more run down every year. We always felt that were were staying in somebody's guest room, since the lobby would be full of personal furniture, maybe a kitchen, a stack of laundry. Plus, it never seemed that the family really WANTED guests.

The Americinn is located 5 miles due north of I80, but it's a straight and fast 5 miles, and is well worth the effort. Nothing special, but the rooms are clean, there's a pool, the little town is a treat, and the staff is always friendly and pretty Danish girls, or at least we guessed they were Danish since the town bills itself as a center of Danish culture.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tivoli Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Inn & Suites

Address: 4037 Main St, Elk Horn, IA 51531-2103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Elk Horn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Horn
Price Range: $57 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tivoli Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tivoli Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Inn & Suites Elk Horn, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing